I’m rediscovering…

… Lucy Maud Montgomery, after a long, long time. All thanks to Veens!

I fell in love with the author’s old-world style when I read Anne of the Green Gables. I wanted to read more of her but, somehow, never got around to doing that.

Yesterday, I chanced upon the link to one of her short stories – White Magic – on Veens’s blog and couldn’t stop myself from reading it immediately. I fell in love with the cute, romantic way in which she writes – all over again! After that, I HAD to read more of Lucy. And I went on and read another story by her – The little black doll. Just what I needed after all those depressing stories!

White Magic is a mushy story about Avery, Jane and Randall.Β  One afternoon, the pretty Avery tells Jane that she is not in love with Randall, with whom she is engaged to be married soon. The not-so-beautiful Jane is shocked, for she cannot imagine how someone can NOT be excited about marrying a person as wonderful as Randall! She vows to make things better for Randall, and hatches upon a plan. What happens afterwards is for you to find out!! All in all, it is a feel-good story, with a fairytale touch to it. It left me feeling all warm and smiling. I tried to find some of my favourite quotes from the story, but couldn’t. I loved the way the ENTIRE story has been written! A highly recommended read!

The little black doll is the story of Little Joyce, a girl who is in love with a weird-looking black doll. Her life is rather sad, and the only friend(?) she has, Denise, is about to die soon. She decides to fulfill Denise’s last wish, and how she goes about it makes up the story. The story is kind of sad, but positive nevertheless, and quite predictable. I loved the author’s style, though. Her way of describing commonplace things is wonderful. Though a notch less fulfilling than White magic, this one is worth a read too!

I am gonna read more of this lovely author pretty soon. For sure. Any suggestions?

***************************

I read these stories for the 100 Shots of Short Challenge. That’s the 24th and the 25th shot of short down! 76 stories more to go! πŸ™‚

***************************

PS: I am loving the snow on WordPress. Gives a nice, festive feel, innit? And, what are your holiday plans, people?

3 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

3 responses to “I’m rediscovering…

  1. I m glad you liked it! Oh there are many, wheni m feeling a lil dull… i set about reading her! πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the links, I so enjoyed the story of the little black doll!

  3. priyaiyer

    @veens

    me too! πŸ˜€

    @margaret

    welcome here! thanks for the comment! πŸ™‚
    glad you liked the story!

Leave a Reply

