It’s fairytale time…

…in my reading room! I have been checking out some fairytales for the 100 Shots of Short Challenge, from the times when I was a kid and, I must say, it has been fun.

What all did I read? Here we go:

51st shot of short: Rumpelstiltskin by The Brothers Grimm

This is an enjoyable read about a miller’s daughter, who takes the help of a dwarf to spin straw into gold for the king. In return, the dwarf asks for a promise.

It was delightful going back through memory lane with this story.

Available online here

52nd shot of short: The little mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen

I don’t know how I missed this story when I was a kid!!! I had the pleasure of reading it now, and I am touched with it. It is a beautiful story of a mermaid’s love for a human prince, and a quite tearful one at that! It left me feeling quite heavy, but I would say it definitely is worth a read for its beautiful narration.

Available online here

53rd shot of short: Thumbelina by Hans Christian Andersen

This is a delightful little tale I decided to revisit after years, and it was fun!! I thoroughly enjoyed reading the adventures of Thumbelina, a pretty maiden who was just an inch high! It took me back to those wonder years of childhood once again, when I was enchanted with fairytales!

Available online here

Image source: Here

3 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

3 responses to “It’s fairytale time…

  1. I loved the cartoon versions as a kid, not sure if reading them as a grown up guy will be as fun. But I do read a lot of comics and kid’s stuff πŸ˜€

  2. love all three stories.. must have been fun going back to them after so many years ..i have taken up the challenge and my next few shots are going to be these gems !! thanx !!

  3. priyaiyer

    @praveen

    i still do too! πŸ˜€
    i loved fairytales as a kid… was enchanted by them… decided to give them a shot once more… and found i am still just as charmed by them! πŸ™‚

    @bedazzled

    welcome! πŸ™‚ happy reading!

Leave a Reply

