Rediscovering Murakami

First things first, HAPPY NEW YEAR 2010!! Hope you all had a fantastic New Year’s eve!!

Some time back, I read a bit by Haruki Murakami and, at the risk of offending Murakami lovers, didn’t much like what I read. I felt the pressure of trying to like his work, as loads of other people do, but I really didn’t see myself looking forward to reading more by him. He’s too much mystical and surreal for me. But then, the new year came along and I discovered this list of 1001 short stories that you must read before you die, by C.B. James. And, consequently, I discovered this story by Murakami – On seeing the 100% perfect girl one beautiful April morning. I decided to give it a shot, and I just LOVED it. Ok, I admit I was attracted by the title, but I loved it once I was done with the story.

This was the 57th shot of shortย for the 100 Shots of Short Challenge.

It is a lovely, bittersweet story with a lot of mush in it. It is about a guy who crosses paths with a girl one fine morning, who is not very attractive, but he feels that she is the 100% perfect girl for him. I can’t write more about this story without giving it away. Read for yourself!! Highly recommended!!

Available online here

Also came across the video adaptation of the story, which is just as cute:

I’m now more willing to read and understand Murakami. Any help and/or suggestions in this respect would be appreciated.

Do check out this story, and let me know how you guys liked it..

5 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

5 responses to “Rediscovering Murakami

  1. happy 2010 Priya..hope you have a great year ahead!

    and i’ve been following your 100 short stories thing …nice thing you are doing…i might take it up some day ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. priyaiyer

    @titaxy

    hey, girl! happy new year to you too! ๐Ÿ™‚
    thanks for checking up on the short story review posts.. would be great if you could join in the club as well! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Loved this one Priya, thanks for sharing the link. It leaves me a little scared, the sad little story but it’s nice nonetheless…

  4. priyaiyer

    @anupama

    glad you liked it! it was great starting the new year with this cute story..

  5. Pingback: First lines meme « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

