Ginger Soda Lemon Pop

I finished reading one more book over the course of the last few days – Ginger Soda Lemon Pop by Christina Daniels. Thanks, Anupama, for introducing me to and lending me this beautiful book!!

The book is quite different from the ones I have seen so far. It is written from the viewpoint of a little girl called Tita. It is the story of Tita, her routine life, her fears and little triumphs, and how she learns the lessons of life. It is a heart-touching story, painful and humourous at the same time.

I don’t know when I fell in love with Tita. I saw quite a lot of myself in her. The portrayal of a kid who does not quite understand grown-ups, with her mind full of questions, and who lives in a world of her own, is beautiful. I loved the way she asks question after question to her apparently single mother. The way she moves through life, deals with the events that happen to and around her and learns from them is painful, the way watching a child transforming into an adult always is. There is understated humour in the book as well.

If I had to describe this book in one word, I would say – bittersweet. It is a very short book, but one very simply written. There’s no ‘story’ as such, but it is hard-hitting for sure. Reading this book has been a wonderful experience. It is a book that will stay with me for quite some time.

I was happy to note that it is the author Christina Daniels’ debut book, and after reading this sensitive story, I dare say I would like to read more from her.

My rating: 3.5 stars

Book review from The Hindu

4 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

4 responses to “Ginger Soda Lemon Pop

  1. this sounds like an adorable book.. will definitely catch it ! ..

  2. priyaiyer

    @ bedazzled

    it is a cute but meaningful book, one that will haunt you for some time after you have read it.. do let me know how you liked it, if you do get to reading it.. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Author Speak: Christina Daniels « uniquely priya

  4. Pingback: Mind Blogs 1.0 « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

