Love Story

I read Love Story by Erich Segal some years back, and didn’t like it all that much. I decided to revisit the book once more a couple of days back, as my way of paying a tribute to Segal, and I was surprised to find that I LOVED it!!

Note: Plot partly revealed

The second time around, I discovered all the emotions that the author has portrayed, and I now know why this book is so much loved the world over. It makes you feel the lives of the protagonists – Oliver and Jennifer.

The storyline as such is quite commonplace, somthing that you’d find in a lot of Bollywood movies – rich boy meets poor girl and they fall in love, the girl is dying and the guy goes to his rich dad to ask for money to save her, putting behind him the animosity built between them over the years, and in the end, all is well. However, the narration by Segal is beautiful; it makes you feel each and every emotion that Jenny and Oliver go through.

It is one of those books that is light and easy to read, and you can’t put down till you are done with it, but that stays with you for a long, long time. I’m SO, SO happy to have rediscovered this priceless book, and I really don’t know why I didn’t like it earlier!! I was probably out of my senses at that time!! 😦

Mush, tragedy, humour – this book has the right amount of everything, and makes for a small but powerful read. The different shades of love that Segal has painted are just beautiful, and left me wanting for more.

I now badly want to read the sequel to Love Story – Oliver’s Story. If you haven’t read this one already, go grab a copy!! It’s definitely worth a read and more!! 🙂

My rating: 4 stars

*************************

Song on my mind:

9 Comments

Filed under Music, Reading Ramana

9 responses to “Love Story

  1. I love this book too…a love story that gets mushy in the right proportion and at the right places…a story for all times…

  2. I have noticed women love the book more than men.

    Did you listen to the music from Striker, Ishqiya and Karthik Calling Karthik?

    Aside, I was wondering if you write a post on Phir Mile Sur Mera Tumhara, since you did one on DD.
    Anyways if time permits please read this.

  3. priyaiyer

    @anupama

    it is a lovely book.. a story for all times indeed..

    @praveen

    oh, is it? i didn’t notice that..
    No, I’m yet to listen to the music of all the movies that you mention.. yet to listen to Phir Mile Sur Mera Tumhara as well.. I was planning to do a post on it, if time permits.. 🙂 let’s see..
    thanks for the link.. will check it out soon..

  4. I have not read it yet! But I think it is high time I picked it up!

  5. Ava

    I love Eric Segal’s style in this book. It is pithy and witty. I am totally in love with Jen and Oliver. I was lucky to see the movie when it came out and read the book too. Its abs the top romantic movie/book on my list.

  6. priyaiyer

    @veens

    oh, you should surely check out this book!! it’s lovely… i m sure you will love it!! 🙂

    @ava

    me too, me too, me too!! i loved the author’s style… it is one of the best romances all right!! 🙂

  7. vamsi

    Hi priya..
    I have read Love Story just after the death of eric … just wanted to see what ta fuss is about .. and i found the story narration quite weird ..! {Well .. its like cut .. cut cut .. } May be its Harvard style of writing 😀 ..
    Anyways. I heard “The Class” is best piece of his pieces..
    Cheers

  8. priyaiyer

    @vamsi

    hey! welcome here!
    yes, the writing style in love story is a bit cut-cut-cut 🙂 i felt that too.. nevertheless, i enjoyed the book whole heartedly…
    i too have heard a lot about ‘the class’ and look forward to reading it 🙂

  9. Pingback: Best of 2010 – Books « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

