A photo tag

It was getting kinda monotonous here at UP, and I decided to break it with this interesting tag I came across here. The rule of the tag was pretty simple – Open the first folder of photos on your system, and post the 10th photo in it. I snooped around our photo folders, and lo and behold! I found this pretty picture, with a cutesy story behind it. 🙂

The photo here is that of a step-well at Adalaj in Gandhinagar, Gujarat. It is a tourist attraction very near to Ahmedabad, a usually calm place away from the hustle and bustle of the city, a place you can go to to reflect and spend some quiet time. I totally love the old-world charm of the place, with its many jharokhas and intricate carvings and all. I specially love this photo for the way the sunlight looks, filtering through the many storeys of the well, giving the place a kind of haunting beauty. Maybe it’s just me being over-sentimental?!!

This photo was taken in September 2008, when the (now) better half and his family had come to ‘see’ me. Both of us, along with my dad and my aunt, and my then-would-be mother-in-law and then-would-be brother-in-law set off on an Ahmedabad-and-nearby-places-darshan trip. The Adalaj step-well was one of the places we covered.

The trip is special to the better half and me, because it was the first time we went ‘out’ together, albeit with family. 🙂 It gave an opportunity for both families to bond, and for the hubby’s side to feel the culture of the place I call home. Both of us adored the step-well at first sight (It was the first time both of us were visiting the place!). We would, for sure, love to check out the place once again, and revisit some beautiful old memories. 🙂

The day we took this trip happened to be my then-would-be other-brother-in-law’s birthday, and I still remember the way we called him up on the way to the step-well and all of us wished him turn by turn. When it was my turn to wish him, tongues were tied at both ends! 😛 It all seems funny and cute now!! 🙂

It has been over a year now, and all these memories are still fresh in mind. 🙂

So, that’s that, folks!! Why don’t you revisit your photo folders too and find some pretty memories to share? I would love to read about them! 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Love, Musings, My pics, Tag

6 responses to “A photo tag

  1. Ohh a post filled with nostalgia ! Can so relate to it.. 🙂 The pic is nice. Can relate very much ) to the way you describe the building with an attachment that is quite apparent, and 2) with the way you recollect the wishing-on-the-way part..we have these certain small details that we remember for a long time..I do this quite a bit too.. !

    Sathej

  2. Praveen

    you are in UP?

  3. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    Thanks!! 🙂

    @praveen

    ROFL.. UP stands for Uniquely Priya… I meant it was getting kinda boring on Uniquely Priya, with only posts about books… 😀 😀 😀

  4. Praveen

    *wide grin*

    sorry 😀 that was really stupid of me.

  5. priyaiyer

    @titaxy

    thanks!! 🙂

    @praveen

    well, it happens!! 😀

Leave a Reply

