The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13-3/4

This one was a birthday present to myself, along with Erich Segal’s Oliver’s Story. I couldn’t put down Adrian Mole once I’d started, and finished it in two days flat. I loved the plot of this book as soon as I read it on Anupama’s blog, and the book didn’t disappoint me either!

The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13-3/4 is, as the name suggests, the personal diary of a 13-3/4-year old kid named Adrian Mole, who lives in England. It is his outlet, where he writes about the various things of his day-day-life: his acne problem, his squabbling parents, the ‘love of his life’ Pandora, his efforts at poetry, his musings about being a ‘tortured poet’ and a ‘misunderstood intellectual’, school, the school bully, his neighbours, et al.

On the surface, the diary is a rather humourous one. It makes you laugh out loud. But, if you look deep within, you can see the undercurrents: the effect that a bad marriage can have on a child. At times like these, I felt sad for the child that was Adrian. At several places, I felt a similarity with The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time.

It is a light read, a small book that can be read pretty soon. However, it stays with you for some time. Recommended? Yes. 🙂

I eagerly look forward to reading the other Adrian Mole books.

My rating: 3.5 stars

*************************

For the 4-month Challenge, which I have long exceeded the due date for. 😛 I read this for the 5-point category: Read a book with a number in the title.

6 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

6 responses to “The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13-3/4

  1. Ava

    I adored The curious incident… I think I will pick up this book. I nearly did a few years ago, but dont remember why I didnt.

  2. priyaiyer

    @ava

    hey, just visited your site and loved it… added you to my blogroll.. would be reading it up soon.. 🙂
    you’ll probably like this book if you liked the curious incident.. do give it a shot and let me know how you liked it 🙂

  3. I like the idea of gifting oneself gifts 🙂
    I love this plot too and when i m out of the book- buying ban… i will definitely get this one fo me:)

  4. priyaiyer

    @veens

    oh, i buy myself books all the time.. i should REALLY put a book-buying ban on myself pretty soon..
    not that i havent tried, but it fails miserably every time 😦

    i usually buy books on special occasions and when i visit new places, just for memory’s sake..

    guess you would enjoy adrian mole.. do check out the book some time.. and ya, don’t forget to tell me how you liked it 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Growing Pains Of Adrian Mole « uniquely priya

  6. Pingback: Best of 2010 – Books « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

