The Tales Of Beedle The Bard

I came to acquire J.K. Rowling’s The Tales Of Beedle The Bard quite accidentally. A few days ago, I was browsing through a small bookstall near my place, just like that, when I found a copy of this book, which was on sale for a throwaway price. I don’t usually read much fantasy, but this book tempted me and I picked it up. I read it off and on, and finally finished it. And, I must say, it hasn’t  disappointed me.

The Tales Of Beedle The Bard is basically a collection of five tales about the world of magic, fantasy, wizards, witches and wands. It first found mention in the last of the Harry Potter books, the seventh, Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows. It is a slim book and an easy read, also containing explanations for each story by the famous Aldus Dumbledore, the headmaster of the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

The stories took me back to my childhood, when I was fascinated by stories of witches and magic. I enjoyed reading them a lot, and Albus Dumbledore’s notes gave an almost real feeling to the world of magic, as if such a world actually exists out of the Harry Potter books.

At the risk of offending Harry Potter fans, I would say that I have read only the first book of the series. (I am thinking of picking up the others soon!) Still, The Tales Of Beedle The Bard made sense, as an independent book. I would recommend it to all lovers of fantasy stories.

My rating: 3.5 stars

***********************

I read the five stories in this book for the 100 Shots of Short Challenge:

  • Shot #72: The Wizard And The Hopping Pot
  • Shot #73: The Fountain Of Fair Fortune
  • Shot #74: The Warlock’s Hairy Heart
  • Shot #75: Babbitty Rabbitty And Her Cackling Stump
  • Shot #76: The Tale Of The Three Brothers

 How’s your reading going?

4 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

4 responses to “The Tales Of Beedle The Bard

  1. Bring on books books and more books for Priya pls 😀

  2. priyaiyer

    @praveen

    🙂 that’s all i seem to be blogging about these days..

  3. Ava

    Now this is a find. JKR has a nice easy style of writing. Even I have read only the Book I. I am planning to watch all the movies first, and then get the full book set..

  4. priyaiyer

    @ava

    yes, this was a find indeed… do try to pick it up sometime.. it is a fun read, especially if you like fantasy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

