Poetry Corner

I read Thursdays With Tagore at Kals’ blog and loved the concept. It made me realise that I have almost forgotten how to to read poetry. It made me long to make a fresh start with poetry, and so, here I go with a slightly modified version of Thursdays With Tagore, with due permission from Kals.

I will be posting a poem every week under the heading of Poetry Corner, something that I read and liked enough to discuss and bring to the notice of my blog friends. I will try to feature a new poet every week.

Suggestions on what poems to read are most welcome from all of you.

For today, I’ll go with a beautiful poem by THE Tagore (something that has been on my Gtalk status for a while now):

When I bring to you coloured toys, my child, I understand why there is such a play of colours on clouds, on water, and why flowers are painted in tints – when I give coloured toys to you, my child.

When I sing to make you dance I truly know why there is music in leaves, and why waves send their chorus of voices to the heart of the listening earth – when I sing to make you dance.

When I bring sweet things to your greedy hands I know why there si honey in the cup of the flower and why fruits are secretly filled with sweet juice – when I bring sweet things to your greedy hands.

When I kiss your face to make you smile, my darling, I surely understand what pleasure streams from the sky in morning light, and what delight that is which the summer breeze brings to my body – when I kiss you to make you smile.

~ Rabindranath Tagore, Gitanjali

Isn’t the imagery just lovely?

Do join in and tell me what poetry are you reading this week.

Image Source: Wikipedia

6 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Sourced

6 responses to “Poetry Corner

  1. Kals

    Lovely poem indeed! Looking forward to seeing all the poets you feature.

    Sarojini Naidu is one of my most favourite poets ever. She had the talent of conjuring images with her words and her poems were emotional, lyrical and beautiful 🙂

  2. Give Me One Good Reason To Die by Marty McConnell you can search “def poems” in youtube and spend hours/days..listening to some wonderful,power poems..

  3. This is lovely,Priya. As for me, I’ve been reading poems by Pablo Neruda, a poet I discovered on Naida the bookworm’s blog.

  4. priyaiyer

    @kals, yuva and suko

    glad you liked this poem. thanks a lot for your suggestions. shall check them out soon. 🙂

  5. wow.. that is beautiful. I will also do this. Long time I have really tried reading any poetry!

    Thanks Priya!

  6. priyaiyer

    @veens

    glad you liked it… we all should take up reading more poetry.. makes our reading more complete..
    do join in.. will be fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

