The Bibliophile Tag :)

Veens tagged me a couple of days ago with a few questions on books. It’s been a rather long time since I was officially tagged (that didn’t stop me from stealing tags from blogs, though! 😛 ). That, coupled with the fact that I adored the tag, made me do it at the earliest possible opportunity.

So, here we go:

  • Are there any books you would like to beg, borrow, or steal?

I have realized (rather late, sadly) that I shouldn’t be buying all the books that I read (or don’t read – my TBR pile is bigger than my READ pile). Provided I can get access to a really good stock of books in a library or elsewhere, I’d like to borrow books, going by what I’m feeling like reading. I’d like to invest only in books that I really adore.

  • Are you addicted to trips to Borders or the public library?

I had a public library very near my place at Ahmedabad, and I was addicted to visiting it in my childhood, even during my exams! I stopped visiting it when I couldn’t find contemporary books to read there. I’d love to join a lending library that has the kind of books I read, but there’s none around my home here. I wouldn’t say I’m addicted to trips to the bookstore; I just like going there off and on, whenever I have nothing else to do. I find it a relaxing, fun experience, even when I’m not buying anything.

  • Do you have a way to remember what books you have read?

GoodReads, Shelfari and my blog

  • When did your love of books begin?

In childhood. As I earlier mentioned, I had this wonderful library very near my place at Ahmedabad and I used to literally live in there when I was a kid. Dad inculcated the habit of visiting the library every day; he used to take me along when he went to read the newspapers there and used to leave me in the Children’s Section. And I got addicted to the books there. Later, as the pressure of studies and career built up, the addiction wore off and I almost stopped reading. I again rediscovered my love for books a couple of years back. I am picking up quite a few books now that I didn’t read then, and believe me, I haven’t read quite a lot of good books! Well, better late than never!

  • What is a favorite book?

There are several. The ones I can rattle off in my sleep are The Bridges Of Madison County, The Kite Runner, To Sir With Love, 84 Charing Cross Road, Gently Falls The Bakula, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Anne Of The Green Gables, Daddy-Long-Legs, Marley And Me, The Notebook, The Rescue, Speedpost, Manual Of The Warrior Of Light, Like The Flowing River

  • Author?

I like experimenting with authors, and am not biased. However, I like reading Rabindranath Tagore, O Henry, Lucy Maud Montgomery, Paulo Coelho and Nicholas Sparks

  • Do you still have in your possession a book borrowed, but not returned to its rightful owner?

I usually return the books I borrow in reasonable time. However, I have two borrowed books with me – a copy of Chicken Soup For The Indian Teenage Soul and a copy of Erich Segal’s Doctors – which I have been reading on and off and have not returned for an indecent amount of time.  The people I’ve borrowed them from are OK with it, so I’m slowly trudging on!

  • What’s the most in library fines you have owed?

I remember we used to have a Rs. 0.25 fine per book per day, at the lending library I went to. I usually returned the books on time or got them renewed, if I hadn’t read them. I think I might have paid a fine of Rs. 1 or Rs. 2 for keeping the books past the due date due to unavoidable circumstances. 

  • Do you loan books out to others?

Yes, I do, but to people I can trust to keep them safe adn return them on time to me in the same condition. I am kind of possessive about my books and don’t like anyone meddling with them, but I don’t mind lending them to someone who has a genuine passion for reading and who are really interested.

That was fun!! Thanks for tagging me, Veens!

I’m not tagging anyone, but if you are interested, do take it up!!

4 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

4 responses to “The Bibliophile Tag :)

  1. A nice tag this one 🙂

    When I was in school, I used to love spending time in the library..most of the free time I used to be there. And now I go to Borders every time I feel like shopping or treating me with something 😀 IT’s so much fun!

  2. I enjoyed reading your answers to this bilbiophilic meme. 🙂

    Veens also tagged me–I had fun doing this meme.

  3. I am sure there will be really good libraries in Bangalore too. I have seen 2 ads of online libraries, from whom u can get books on your doorsteps! And i thought that was a great idea.
    I also realised that i need not buy everything i read but for lack of libraries which have good books, i still end up buying books!

  4. priyaiyer

    @titaxy

    glad you liked the post! do take it up if you feel like it! 🙂
    nice to meet another book lover… didn’t know you had a passion for books too..

    @suko

    am glad you enjoyed the post.. will check out your answers soon…

    @veens

    “also realised that i need not buy everything i read but for lack of libraries which have good books, i still end up buying books!” – my point exactly!!
    yet to do research on libraries in bangalore… got to do that soon.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

