A Poetry Meme

I found this wonderful poetry meme on Lotus Reads and decided to take it up. It made me think of poetry in a way I have never done.

Here we go:

  1. The first poem I remember reading/hearing/reacting to was:

    I read a lot of poetry for school but, looking back, this is the poem that I remember the most – Leisure by Wm. Henry Davies. I found it beautiful back then, and I still find it relevant today.

             Leisure

What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

No time to stand beneath the boughs
And stare as long as sheep or cows.

No time to see, when woods we pass,
Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

No time to see, in broad daylight,
Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
And watch her feet, how they can dance.

No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

2. I was forced to memorize (name of poem) in school and……..

I was forced to memorize a lot of poems in school, but this is one that I remember distinctly:

For want of a nail

For want of a nail the shoe was lost,

For want of a shoe, the horse was lost,

For want of a horse, the rider was lost,

For want of a rider, the battle was lost,

For want of a battle, the the kingdom was lost,

And all for the want of a horseshoe nail.

3. I read/don’t read poetry because….

I find poetry a little complicated to read; it often has several layers to it, and for me, trying to understand what the poet actually wants to say is often a very difficult process. This puts me off reading poetry, but still, I do read poetry whenever the mood strikes me. Time constraints too put me off reading poetry.

4. A poem I’m likely to think about when asked about a favorite poem is …….

When asked about a favourite author, I am likely to think of Tagore. I especially love these lines by Tagore:

Where the mind is without fear and the head is held high
Where knowledge is free
Where the world has not been broken up into fragments
By narrow domestic walls
Where words come out from the depth of truth
Where tireless striving stretches its arms towards perfection
Where the clear stream of reason has not lost its way
Into the dreary desert sand of dead habit
Where the mind is led forward by thee
Into ever-widening thought and action
Into that heaven of freedom, my Father, let
my country awake.

And

You smiled and talked to me of nothing and I felt that for this I had been waiting long.

 And

Let this be my last word, that I trust in thy love.

 This poem by Robert Frost is also special to me:

 The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost

5. I write/don’t write poetry, but…………..

I used to dabble a bit with poetry earlier (though calling my attempts poetry would be equal to blasphemy). I haven’t written anything in a long while now.

6. My experience with reading poetry differs from my experience with reading other types of literature…..

It definitely does. With poetry, I have to sometimes struggle to grasp the meaning behind the seemingly simple words, though it is worth the effort almost always. That’s usually not the case when I’m reading other types of literature.

7. I find poetry…..

…emotional. A sudden spurt of any emotion gives rise to poetry.

8. The last time I heard poetry….

…Was yesterday. I was glancing through Stray Birds and Lover’s Gift by Tagore.

9. I think poetry is like….

A huge club sandwich. Eat one layer of it, and you will feel only one taste. Bite off all layers of it and chew your way through it, and several wonderful flavours will burst in your mouth.

It was nice doing this tag. I’m not tagging anyone,but do take it up if it interests you!

9 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

9 responses to “A Poetry Meme

  1. Kals

    Lovely meme and great answers ! I shall do it soon 🙂

    ‘ Where the mind is without fear ‘ is one of those poems that have made me cry while reading. It’s just so emotional and so very like Tagore. He’s a genius and his poems stay with you long after you’re done reading. I’m so glad I found another Tagore fan online! 🙂 🙂

  2. You did a wonderful job with this meme. Your choices of poems are touching, beautiful.

  3. priyaiyer

    @kals

    glad to meet another tagore fan too! 🙂
    checked out your version of the tag… was fun reading through it!!

    @susan

    thanks! am glad you liked the post! 🙂

  4. I enjoyed reading this. I LOVE poetry. But then, you probably know that. 😛 Most of the posts on Pixie Dust are poems.

  5. priyaiyer

    @stef

    hey! long time! nice to see you back here.. How have you been doing?
    glad you liked the post.. I know you are a poetry fan 🙂

  6. I’m a blogger again! I put her first post (of the year) up yesterday, and then decided to head over to all my favourite blogs to catch up with the blogosphere. So I’m having tons of fun.
    Your new template is brilliant, by the way. 🙂

  7. priyaiyer

    @stef

    glad to note that you are back in action in blog world.. shall check out pixie dust soon 🙂
    thanks! i love this template too.. 🙂

  8. Drop by any time you’re in the neighbourhood. 😛

  9. priyaiyer

    @stef

    i already did!! that was a nice poem! 🙂

Leave a Reply

