Malgudi Schooldays

I have Sathej to thank for suggesting that I read RK Narayan’s Malgudi Schooldays. I used to watch Malgudi Days on good old Doordarshan and was a HUGE fan of it, specially the title track. I somehow never thought of picking up the book, till Sathej suggested it. The book lay and lay and lay and lay in my bookshelf, untouched, till I suddenly got inspired to pick it up some time back. And, am I glad I read it!!

It is one of those books that make you feel satisfied from within, that make you smile as you finish one chapter after another, and sigh at the end of it all and leave you wanting for more. I don’t know if it is because of watching Swami so much on TV, but I totally adored the book and fell in love with the cute dreamer that Swami is.

Malgudi Schooldays traces the life of Swami in the small town of Malgudi – his (mis)adventures at school, his friends, his family, the way he approaches studies, et al, not toΒ forget his Monday blues. In course of time, I could feel the way Swami sees Malgudi.

It is an extremely well-written book, a cosy, comfortable read and a totally engrossing and entertaining one at that. Highly recommended!!

**************************

My rating: 5 Stars

I read this book for the Orbis Terrarum Challenge ’10. The stopover was India.

**************************

For all the Doordarshan lovers out there, this is for you:

9 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Sourced

9 responses to “Malgudi Schooldays

  1. Kals

    I need to re-read it! It’s been ages and this post just makes me want to run and get the book πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the mention Priya πŸ™‚ Glad you liked reading it πŸ™‚ Do try out other RK Narayan’s works as well, though some are a bit different from this. If you want something similar would definitely recommend two books of his – Grandmother’s Tales and Salt and Sawdust. The latter especially – have a feeling you’ll like it greatly πŸ™‚

    Sathej

  3. ya..nice book & wonderful TV series.. you can find full series in youtube and in google videos
    http://iamyuva.wordpress.com/2008/05/11/malgudi-days-tv-series/

  4. Thanks for posting this. This has been on my “To-Read” list forever, and I had somewhat forgotten about it. Now I am going to move it to top of list and this will be among the first ones I pick up in June (no reading until then ) 😦

  5. Kalyan

    I am reading it right now and half way through it. I had been craving to read it since my school days.Atlast somehow managed to get hold of it now.

  6. priyaiyer

    @kals

    i don’t know how i missed reading this book so far!! it’s a great read for sure… πŸ™‚

    @sathej

    thanks for the suggestions!! i’ll try them out sometime soon.. πŸ™‚

    @yuva

    thanks for the link… shall check out soon πŸ™‚

    @tanu

    oh, great.. am happy this post inspired you, even if only in a little way! πŸ™‚

    @kalyan

    that’s great! hope you enjoy the read!! πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: OT ’10 Wrap-up | uniquely priya

  8. Pingback: Best of 2010 – Books « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

