Bridget Jones: The Edge Of Reason

Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason is a souvenir, a memory of the first time I visited Ahmedabad after marriage. I picked it up at the Ahmedabad airport, as soon as the words ‘Same Bridget. Brand new diary’ leapt at me from the bookshelf. I liked Bridget Jones’s Diary quite a bit, and that helped in picking up the sequel easily.

Bridget Jones’s Diary ended with Bridget being happy to have a boyfriend (finally!). The sequel begins just after that. The sequel too is just as hilarious as the original book, and made me laugh out loud at places. It is pure chicklit, though, and sometimes, Bridget’s antics seemed just mindless. I really wanted to bang on her head at various times and tell her to get a life.

It is well written and a simple, easy, quick read, a light read perfect for curling up with and relaxing on a tired day. It is entertaining, no doubt, if you keep aside the ‘mindless’ part.

This book is also special to me for another reason – Bridget visits Thailand. And Thailand is very, very special to the better half and me.

All in all, it is a book that I quite liked reading and enjoyed.

***********************

My rating: 3.5 stars

I read this book for the OT 2010 Challenge. Stopover: Englnad.

9 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

9 responses to “Bridget Jones: The Edge Of Reason

  1. Ava

    I liked it, but of course, the first was much much better.

  2. This was hilarious as usual…especially the Colin Firth interview which I will rank as one of the best laugh out loud moments in a book! 😀

  3. Nothing compares to the first book which is a classic in it’s genre but this one was a great read too 🙂

  4. I haven’t read any of this series, but this one does sound like a fun book. Thanks for a well written review. 🙂

  5. priyaiyer

    @ava

    yes, i also liked the first one much better! 🙂

    @kals

    yes, the colin firth interview was hilarious! 🙂

    @shweta

    though bridget got on my nerves sometimes, this one too made for an entertaining read..

    @susan

    yes, it is a fun read for sure… do check it out if you like chick lit! and thanks for the detailed explanation @ your blog! it sure made a lot of things clear!

  6. The first one was in many ways a new way for us to read and laugh and sympathise; the second one I guess grew old pretty fast.
    That said, I am fed up of the chicklit books which now seem to capitalise on airheaded heroines who seem to have only shopping and partying (with a little of flirting and man problems thrown in) rather than women of substance; but again, I have been reading too many chicklits over the last year, maybe it is I alone who has this problem.

  7. priyaiyer

    @chennai ramblings

    my thoughts exactly! you are not alone, don’t ya worry!
    i love an occasional chicklit, but only when I have put my brains aside.. maybe i have grown cynical and can’t appreciate fun, but that’s the way it is! it is definitely tiring to see brainless heroines (as you say, who only do shopping and date guys), but once in a while, in between heavy reads, chicklit feels good!

    i sound rather confused, don’t i? :P-

  8. Pingback: OT ’10 Wrap-up | uniquely priya

  9. Pingback: Best of 2010 – Books « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

