The Art Of Racing In The Rain

Garth Stein’s The Art Of Racing In The Rain was a gfft to myself for World Books Day this year (April 23) and for some good developments at work. πŸ™‚ I had read about this book on various book blogs, and was captivated by the theme. I knew I HAD to read this one!

It is a very different kind of book. For starters, the book is narrated by a dog – Enzo. Enzo belongs to Dennis Swift, a car racer, and has been with him since he was a puppy. Enzo has been with Denny through different seasons of his life – Dennis falling in love and marrying Eve, the birth of their daughter Zoe, the ups and downs in his personal and professional life.

Enzo is as good as a human. He understands Denny and hsi family, even what is unsaid. He wants the best for them, and often fights with them when they are doing what is ‘wrong’, according to him. He watches a lot of TV, and has loads of knowledge, thanks to it! He is, like Denny, a ‘racer at heart’, and knows everything about race cars, tracks adn racing strategies. His only desire is to be born as a man in his next life, meet Denny and his family and tell them that Enzo is doing good, with a twinkle in his eyes! His only regret is that he cannot speak, and that gestures are all he has to convey his feelings.

The book moves fast, and is a nice, cosy read, albeit a tragic one. The struggles in Denny and Enzo’s life leave you smiling and sad at the same time. The character of Enzo is unbelievable at times, but adorable too. You can’t help but fall in love with him!Β The book made me aware of a different side of dogs. I’ll never be able to see a dog now without thinking – What’s running through his head? πŸ™‚

I have mixed feelings about this book. It was an entertaining read for sure, and parts of it have been beautifully written. Other parts, however, were typically Bollywoodish. I wouldn’t say I didn’t have fun reading the book, though!Β 

Recommended? Yes. For Enzo – the adorable dog. πŸ™‚

My rating: 3.5 stars

4 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

4 responses to “The Art Of Racing In The Rain

  1. This was one of my best reads for 2009. I cried and laughed through the book: ) I have also passed this book among friends and it’s been a hit with them all. As u said recommended to all!! Lovely review

  2. I read this book, too. I found it touching and humorous, and really enjoyed it. Dogs really are man’s–and woman’s–best friends! πŸ™‚

  3. priyaiyer

    @shweta

    thanks! glad you liked the review! yours was the blog on which i read about this book first πŸ™‚

    @susan

    i agree! as for the book, i found it quite engrossing, though it didn’t touch me quite the same way as ‘marley and me’..

  4. Pingback: Best of 2010 – Books « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

