Song on my mind – 3

Kals’ post on Tagore’s immortal Ekla Cholo Re took me back, once again, to the good old days of Doordarshan. I vaguely remember Ekla Cholo Re, the haunting melody of it, playing on TV at home, though I can’t recall more than that. 😦

After reading this post, I HAD to go on YouTube and search for the song. I found a beautiful rendition, and it has been on my mind ever since. I loved the tune and the sound of the Bengali lyrics already, the Hindi translation in this video adds a whole lot of meaning. Do check it out HERE.

The lyrics in English:

If they answer not to thy call walk alone,
If they are afraid and cower mutely facing the wall,
O thou of evil luck,
Open thy mind and speak out alone.
 
 
If they turn away, and desert you when crossing the wilderness,
O thou of evil luck,
Trample the thorns under thy tread,
And along the blood-lined track travel alone.
 
 
If they do not hold up the light when the night is troubled with storm,
O thou of evil luck,
With the thunder flame of pain ignite thy own heart
And let it burn alone.
 
Isn’t everything about this song just lovely? What say, people?
 
What songs are on your mind? Tell me!!
14 Comments

Filed under Music

14 responses to “Song on my mind – 3

  1. Praveen

    Btw I sent a song a few days back. ARR’s Gujrati song…got?

  2. currently the song from Raavanan (tamil) on my mind…

    Usure Poguthey Usure Poguthey
    Uthada Nee Kondam Suzhikayila
    Oooh Maaman Thavikiraen, Madipicha Kaekaraen
    Manasa Thaadi En Manikuyilae

  3. I enjoyed the song for its musicality. I think this tune will stay in my head for a long while. 🙂

  4. hey,

    listen to this theme song for the world tamil literary conference 2010, composed by arr.

  5. priyaiyer

    @praveen

    no, i didn’t know that. thanks for the link. i did check it out 🙂
    yes, i heard the gujarati song, too. thanks. sorry, i couldn’t revert to you on that!

    @mumtaz

    thanks for the comment. haven’t heard any of these songs. should check them out soon 🙂

    @suko and yuva

    glad you liked this song! 🙂

    @kalyan

    thanks a lot for the link. it is a lovely one, though i couldn’t understand most of the lyrics! 😦

  6. Praveen

    I thought you might like this song

  7. priyaiyer

    @praveen

    thanks for the link!! i heard it, and it sounds nice and soft, but i didn’t understand the lyrics AT ALL. 😦

  8. Praveen

    Never mind Ahmedabad bred Tamil gal 😛
    I will translate it for u some weekend and mail u 🙂

  9. priyaiyer

    @praveen

    thanks! yes i do understand hindi. will sure listen to it soon! 🙂

  10. Praveen

    Heard this song, Priya??? This is so much your kind of music, isn’t it?

  11. priyaiyer

    @praveen

    nope!! added to the list!! thanks once again!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

