Bridal attraction! + An update

Hey, people! Hope y’all are doing fine!

I’m just back from my brother-in-law’s wedding, and our house is abuzz with activity. There’s a freshness in the air, something that gives me the energy to go on in spite of being tired to the bones, doing theΒ gazillion things that need to be done before and after a marriage. Maybe that’s what they mean by ‘Love is in the air’! πŸ™‚

For the umpteenth time, I feel I love weddings. I love the way the bride and bridegroom look on their special day, the mehendi, the haldi and kumkum, the festive lamps and rangolis, the sarees and jewellery, the flowers, the customs, the sweets, the food and ever-flowing coffee, the hustle and bustle of it all.

I’m now a Jethani, and have a co-sister to welcome into the family. It feels…. nice. It felt wonderful to do the rites alongside the better half, as Anna and Manni to the new bride and groom. It’s a feeling very difficult to put down in words.

The festivity in the air is, maybe, what made me fall in love with this cover as soon as I saw it on the Macmillan site:

Isn’t it awesome? I loved everything about the cover; it’s so lovely.

The book is Heather Tomlinson’s Toads And Diamonds. From the description, it sounds like quite a unique book, too!

Do let me know what cover/s you are attracted to of late, while I admire my mehendi one more time! πŸ˜‰

13 Comments

Filed under Occasions, Reading Ramana

13 responses to “Bridal attraction! + An update

  1. Kalyan

    nice cover indeed, perfectly matching the mood

  2. Kals

    Aww..I think you’ll like the film 27 Dresses then πŸ™‚

    The cover is gorgeous and the book sounds very interesting!

  3. Hi Priya! Thanks for visiting my blog πŸ™‚ I think you referenced With Reverent Hands on there as a meme and it’s not! It’s a guest post, so if you’d like to participate, please email me directly and I will send you the template and put it on my blog. But please don’t post it on yours, if you don’t mind πŸ™‚

    I’m out of town right now but I’ve bookmarked your message so I can come find your blog again. I love the background!

  4. This cover is magical, and to me, very exotic. Just like a wedding in India. πŸ™‚

  5. I saw the stub of this post on my blogger dashboard and I just had to check it out. I went to my cousin’s wedding 2 years ago and we had a blast. My parents are currently attending another wedding and they call and tease me since I am not there. Weddings are so much fun. I love the festive atmosphere, the music and dancing, and the FOOD. I love the food. Reading your post makes me miss India more and more.

    Lovely cover. I am definitely going to check this book out. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Ava

    Congratulations. Enjoy your new status.

  7. priyaiyer

    @kalyan

    thank you! πŸ™‚

    @kals

    the book does sound very interesting.. me too should check it out sometime..
    have heard a lot about 27 Dresses and do have it on my list of to-be-seen movies πŸ™‚ thanks for the suggestion.

  8. priyaiyer

    @aarti

    hey! welcome here! thanks for the comment.
    would like to say you have got a very interesting blog, and i would love to go back and check out all your posts! πŸ™‚ i was not referring to ‘with reverent hands’, though that’s a lovely concept too. i was talking about a book meme that you’d taken up earlier. have left a comment at your space.

    @suko

    oh, i love weddings in general. glad you liked the cover! πŸ™‚

    @tanu

    i know! weddings are something that fill you with energy. they are just SO MUCH fun!
    do come to india soon! πŸ™‚ glad you liked the cover.

  9. priyaiyer

    @ava

    thank you!! πŸ™‚

  10. Love the cover. Hope my Jethani also felt in same way when I came. Should ask her sometime. πŸ˜‰ LOL

  11. priyaiyer

    @bluemist

    glad you liked the cover.
    hee hee.. she would have, of course. why wouldn’t she have not? πŸ˜›

  12. Hmm..nice portrayal of a wedding atmosphere..somehow reminds me of colours..good wishes to your BIL and his wife..

    Sathej

  13. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    thanks a lot!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

