On books, bookstores and travelling

~ The curious explorer in me is slowly waking up. She is looking around at the web that has entangled her, all the while she was dormant. She is struck by the urge to unentangle herself and go right out there into the unknown. She wants to explore, in her own little ways. Yay to that!!

~ It is awesome to explore a new city all by yourself and discover things. Like I found a whole book lover’s paradise on Church Street and Brigade Road this weekend. And yes, I’m definitely going back there again! It feels good to finally have ticked off some places on the must-visit places suggested by wellwishers – Cauvery Emporium, Blossoms and Magazines.

~ It feels fantastic when you experience the serendipituous finding of 3 books you have looked for all over, at a place you least expected. I fell in love with the old-world charm of Robert James Waller’s writing after reading The Bridges Of Madison County and A Thousand Country Roads, and have been looking for his other books since 2008. Imagine my surprise when I casually enquired about them at Blossoms, and found 3!! Too happy to have with me now – Puerto Vallarta Squeeze, Slow Waltz In Cedar Bend andΒ  Border Music – all by the author I can strangely relate to and know exactly what he is saying. And if you haven’t guessed it by now, Slow Waltz In Cedar Bend is already 85% read.

~ Bibliophiles, book conversations, the smell of old books, shelves stacked to overflowing with books – probably will never fail to make me happy.

~ Craziness comes in different forms. The better half gets up at 3 AM to check out who won in the last FIFA match. I would have done the same to read the last few pages of a book. And the family calls us both crazy.

That’s that for now, people! Will be back soon! πŸ™‚

Till then, enjoy this:

17 Comments

Filed under Music, Musings, Places, Reading Ramana

17 responses to “On books, bookstores and travelling

  1. I suggested Blossoms ages ago! remember?! πŸ™‚
    btw if there is a Just Books closer to your home, nothing like it!

  2. priyaiyer

    @Praveen

    Yes, yes, I remember. πŸ™‚ A lot of people had told me that I’d love Blossoms, but I somehow never managed to visit till now.
    Not sure about Just Books. Will try to find out.
    Any other suggestions for must see places or must do things in Banglore? Would be greatly appreciated. πŸ™‚

  3. Sure thing, as and when I remember. you live in south blore i assume?

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      Thanks. As for your question, wouldn’t be comfortable discussing that, honestly. You can include places from anywhere in and around Bangalore in your list. Would be fine. πŸ™‚

  4. Priya, you’ve changed the look of your blog since my last visit. I like it. I read The Bridges of Madison County many years ago and enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

    I have been out of town and away from my blog as you know. But now I’m back!

    • priyaiyer

      @Suko

      Yes, I liked this fresh new look a lot too. Glad you liked it. The Bridges Of Madison County is one of my mostest favouritest books in the world. πŸ™‚
      Good to know you’re back!!

  5. There are several book stores in Malleshwaram which have some rare collection of old classics.
    One more on Church street is a small store next to Corporation bank, vertically opp to Amoeba.

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      I think I’ve been to the rare book store you’re talking about in Malleshwaram. I loved that one too. πŸ™‚
      Will check out the Church Street one the next time I’m there. Thanks a lot for the reco.

  6. Ah thats ok! πŸ™‚
    Thats why I posted the comment above.
    Will post more later. There are plenty of places apart from the malls πŸ™‚

  7. All these days, i thought bridges of madison county was Clint Eastwood’s movie. Never new its adaptation of book 😦

    • priyaiyer

      @Bragadeesh

      Oh no, The Bridges Of Madison County is a beautiful book by Robert James Waller, one that I absolutely fell in love with as soon as I read it. It also has a sequel – A Thousand Country Roads, which is not as great, but good too. The movie is based on the first book. I am yet to see it. πŸ™‚

  8. Blossom πŸ˜€ Check out Bookworm too – one of their shops is on Church Street (actually in between MG Road and Church Street, in a complex, and the other is off Brigade Road. Very nice, helpful staff.
    How long have you been in Bangalore?
    And I love the waka waka song πŸ˜€

    • priyaiyer

      @Chinkurli

      I have heard from a colleague about Bookworm. Will sure check it out the next time I’m there. Thanks a bunch. πŸ™‚
      I have been in Bangalore for about 1-1/2 year now. Shifted here from Ahmedabad, just before I was to get married. Been in a totally different time zone after that. Didn’t do much of exploring. Now the dormant explorer in me is waking up and wants to check out every little part of the city. πŸ™‚
      And oh, I love the Waka Waka song too.

  9. Bookworm!! thats the place I called “One more on Church street is a small store next to Corporation bank, vertically opp to Amoeba. ”

    Thanks to the person above.

  10. Praveen

    Here is just books website
    http://www.justbooksbangalore.com/

    Shame that I cudnt rememebr Book worm despite 25 yrs in Blore 😦

Leave a Reply

