Day 1 – 7 days of positivity :)

I came across this wonderful idea of 7 days of positivity on Shankari’s blog – something that started at Preeti’s blog.

The concept is: Focussing on the positives does help not only in emotional happiness but also helps in living richer lives. The thing is, it is easier said than done. When things are going wrong, or when something does not quite go the way you want it to, is it really possible to focus on ‘positives’?

The answer is ‘Yes’. It can be done but sometimes we just need to force ourselves a bit. The good thing is positivity multiplies.When you feel happy from the inside, you make those around you happy. It is a snowball effect. And the simple act of writing down or declaring what you feel grateful for, does help. (Because it forces you to think “hey yes–that is a good thing indeed”)

So here is an experiment:
For the next seven days I am going to do a post every single day, focussing on 5 things which made me happy or made me feel grateful. I would like you to join me in this experiment.

I would like you to write 5 things which made you feel good or happy.

On days where there is nothing to feel good about, one can just be grateful for a cup of tea. The point here I am trying to make is ‘Life need not be perfect for it to become great’ and by changing our focus we can indeed change how we feel.

(From Preeti’s blog)

I loved the concept. I have been doing it off and on on my blog, but have kind of stopped lately. In the humdrum of daily life, it’s been getting rather difficult for me of late to focus on the little beautiful things in life. So, this experiment sounded like a good idea at the moment.

I’m up for it!! πŸ™‚ For the next seven days, I am going to listΒ at least five things that made me happy each day – however little they may be. I think I’ll make it an end-of-the-day post, or write about the previous day every day.

So, here’s today’s post about the things I was happy about and was grateful for yesterday:

1. I was happy to have the day off, being Saturday. I was hapy to just laze around the whole day, doing nothing, something I’d been craving for since long. I was happy to grab a much-needed afternoon nap.

2. I have not been keeping too well for the last couple of days. Having caught a stomach bug, it was difficult for me to sleep the whole of last night. I was grateful for a husband who cared enough to wake up in the middle of the night to give me my medicine and cheer me up.

3. I was grateful for my mom being here. My parents and my grandma have been over at our place for a few months now. I was happy to just be able to rest at peace and not worry about the household work, which mom took care of.

4. I was happy to shop for a pack of Alphonso mango icecream with the better half last evening, to make me feel better. We were happy to fight playfully, like two kids, over who would taste it first and who would lick the box clean after the contents had been disposed of.

5. I was happy to catch up with some reading. I was glad to have found a beautifully written book – Thrity Umrigar’s The Space Between Us.

6. I was happy to take a relaxed bath yesterday, something I have been longing for, for quite some time. I was happy to wear my new dress in the evening and visit my in-laws’, where we spent some fun time chatting.

That’s it for now, folks! Do try this out – it leaves you with a feeling of gratitude, love and beauty that is hard to describe. πŸ™‚

11 Comments

Filed under Life, Love, Musings

11 responses to “Day 1 – 7 days of positivity :)

  1. Came across your blog when i was searching for the 7 days of positivity in FB… firstly let me congratulate on very good blog.

    It actually is very hard to put down “ONLY” 5 positives… but it surely is fun.. and it s even better to read what others are feeling positive about. Keep writing..

    Your post reminded me of my childhood days..when we used to fight for who gets the first bite for literally anything..

    Stay Positive.
    Cheers
    Shantharam

  2. Your post made me smile. Thinking about “the little things” which give us joy is a wonderful way to increase our happiness. πŸ™‚

  3. Alphonso ice cream – yummy! Glad you had a good 1st day!

  4. Can I also take this Priya? Little little happiness make our day more joyous. Nice to read some nice happenings in blogosphere.

    • priyaiyer

      @Banupriya

      Hey!! Yes, of course, you can take it up. It is a wonderful way to express your happiness and gratitude. But it’s not my idea, it’s Preeti’s. I think she would love more and more people to take it up. Do make sure you credit her for the idea, though. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Adieu – I « SATHEJ'S BLOG

  6. Anu

    first time on your blog, and I loved it! This is a wonderful idea to keep oneself cheerful and to remain positive. To remain so is easy during normal days, but very difficult to retain the positivity during the turbulent times. I’m sure you had a happy day!

  7. priyaiyer

    @Anu

    Hey Anu! Welcome here and thanks for the comment. πŸ™‚
    Glad you are taking up the experiment as well. I had a good day, thank you!!

Leave a Reply

