Short Story Updates

So, the short stories are back in my reading room. I’ve been reading a couple over the last few days, and have enjoyed them heartily.

Which ones did I read? Here you go:

The Ugly Duckling by Hans Christian Anderson

Who hasn’t heard of this story? We all have probably read it as kids and loved it. Well, I decided to revisit the story and found that it delighted me just the same now as it did then.

I love the moral of this tale – Dare to be different. Maybe you will turn out to be better than the rest. 🙂

Available online here

I Will Always Love You by Dave Eggers

This is a very short and funny story, which speaks of a man who is in love with a celebrity – the sexy Dolly Parton. Saying anything else would give the plot away. Do check it out, for it is a delightful read.

Available online here

Awake by Tobias Wolff

Tobias Wolff’s Awake is the story of a young student, Richard, who is in love with a Russian waitress, Ana. Ana is a mature girl, who loves reading classic English literature. The story depicts how Richard contemplates about his relationship with her, and wonders if they should have met at a later stage in life. I loved the way the story unfolded, and enjoyed reading it thoroughly.

Available online here

What do you guys think of these stories? Any more short story suggestions?

*************************

I read these short stories for the 100 Shots of Short Challenge – Shots #79, 80 and 81.

8 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

8 responses to “Short Story Updates

  1. I like short stories…will try these soon! 😀

  2. OMG! Thanks for reminding me… I am supposed to have read some by now 😀

  3. Ava

    I like Tobias Wolff. I read a book by him and a story, they were both good.

Leave a Reply

