Life and the chaat shop

I’ve always been a chaat-loving person, never being able to resist a good dish of chaat. Take chaat away from me, take life away from me – that’s how much I love it. 🙂

There’s this chaat shop the better half and me discovered sometime last year, when my cravings for ‘proper’ chaat had escalated to a whole new level. I was craving for chaat the way it is made in Ahmedabad, the kind of chaat that I have grown up with and absolutely adore.

I was overjoyed to find the sheer variety of chaat that this shop serves, a far cry from the extremely limited dishes that most chaat shops in the city offer. It is not even a proper ‘shop’, it is just a small ‘place’ in the basement of a shop. The ingredients that the guy uses are very few and common. What strikes me, every time I visit there, is his innovativeness. He uses the same ingredients in different permutations and combinations to create different tastes. Hell, he even makes a chaat using ice cream, something I’ve never seen anywhere else! I always find something new to try out whenever I visit this shop, something that matches my mood – from Tim Tom Chaat and Crazy Chaat to Chips Masala and Cornflakes Masala.

Something struck me when we stopped by at the shop on the way back from work yesterday – Isn’t that the way life is supposed to be? Not always having the best, but making the most of whatever you have? Not being scared to be different, but always trying out new things, working on what you’ve got? Drawing strength from the best of each flavour, keeping on experimenting, discovering many new and wonderful recipes in the process?

Here’s to lovely chaats, and yummy life lessons! 🙂

PS: While we are on the topic of food, don’t forget to check out the updates on my food blog. 🙂

18 Comments

Filed under Life, Musings, Places

18 responses to “Life and the chaat shop

  1. Praveen

    There is one shop @ Shanti Nagar which I think is serves the best chat in town 🙂 Again not a “shop”.

  2. priyaiyer

    @Praveen

    Oh I see… Name please? I would love to try out. I am always dying for ‘proper’ chaat. 🙂

    • Praveen

      I don’t remember the name. There is this junction at the Shanthi Nagar hockey stadium, take teh right at that cross road and the 3rd or 4th building on the right. You can make out.

      They serve the best! 🙂

  3. Yummm…I love chaat especially when someone else makes it…That’s among the many things I miss about India.

    • priyaiyer

      @Tanu

      I can see your love for India and how much you miss it in almost all your posts and your comments on my blog.

      Yep, chaat is a wonderful thing that happened to us. 🙂

  4. Priya, I have visited your lovely food blog a few times and it always makes me hungry. I enjoy Indian food a lot but am not sure I’ve ever had chaat–but it sounds wonderful. 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Suko

      Thanks for such kind words. 🙂 You should have chaat – if you haven’t already. It’s something very Indian, and very wonderful. 🙂

  5. Hey Priya! Here after a long time ( I was out of touch with the internet for a good while because my mom has been sick )…lovely post 🙂 It has perked me up after a week of absolutely nothing going my way. Thanks a lot! 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Vaishnavi

      Hey! Good to see you back after a long time. Hope your mom is better now.
      Glad I could cheer you up, even if in a little way! 🙂

  6. Oh Great, thanks for making me hungry for chaat… now when are we going out 🙂

  7. Love chaats… but not as much as you i guess 🙂 Nice analogy here…

  8. Hullos there, Which are the best shops for chat in Ahmedabad? College food gets damn boring after some time 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Ganesh

      Hey there!! College in Ahmedabad??!! I mean, WOW!! More than happy to assist. 🙂
      For good chaat, there’s ATM at Ashram Road, Bhagwati Chaat at Panchwati, near Centre Point. Then, there’s Shivshakti near Law Garden which serves amazing Dabeli and Vada Pav. Jumbo Vada Pav near Municipal Market for Vada Pav. Indore Chaat House at Paldi for the bestest samosa chutney. Vijay Juice Centre near Gujarat College for Pav Bhaji and Dosa. The Ragda Pattice stall outside Municipal Market. Treat Restaurant near Parimal Garden for all kinds of snacks. Freezeland near Law Garden for great food of all kinds. And, of course, the various pani puri stalls all over the city.

  9. priyaiyer

    @Ganesh

    Most welcome. Enjoy yourself. And do let me know how the experience was, if you do visit these places. 🙂

Leave a Reply

