Charlie And The Chocolate Factory

I’m hopping, skipping and jumping over the moon with joy. Why, you ask? Because I’ve found a wonderful author I’m sure I’m hooked on to for life. I am happy at just having finished a wonderful book – Roald Dahl’s Charlie And The Chocolate Factory. 🙂

I can’t thank Vaishnavi enough for reminding me of the childhood classic, which I remember I never picked up, though I remember leafing through it a number of times at the neighbourhood library. Anyways, better late than never! I’m extremely glad I found this book now and read it! This is the kind of fantasy fiction I loved as a kid, and the kind I would want my kids to read someday. This book, in particular, is way ahead of its time, and I’d say it would easily give Harry Potter a run for his money (with all due apologies to Potter fans, I feel the series is just over-hyped). This is the kind of fantasy book I had been looking for since childhood but never found! 🙂

Coming to the point, Charlie And The Chocolate Factory is a wonderful book based on the story of Charlie Bucket, the hero, who belongs to a very poor family who never have enough to eat. He passes through the strange chocolate factory in town on his way to school every day, and wonders what is behind its closed doors. One day, he gets the opportunity to find out! He is one of the lucky winners of Mr. Wonka’s (the factory owner’s) Golden Tickets, which have been placed in five chocolate bars, which could be anywhere in the whole, wide world. Along with four other kids,Charlie enters Mr. Wonka’s factory with his grandpa, on the appointed date, and is awestruck!

There’s a magical land in there – complete with chcolate rivers and mixing pipes and chewing gums that last forever and Oompa Loompas and square sweets that look round. I’m sure the book would have delighted kids and adults alike, long back, and it would continue to do so for a long, long time ago. It did have me on the hooks throughout, and gasping for more.

Charlie And The Chocolate Factory is an extremely yummy read. It has everything – fantasy, lessons in humility and morality for children, suspense and comedy.I would heartily recommend it for all kids – I’m sure they’ll fall in love with this magical Chocolate Land. I would also recommend it to grown-up children (:P) like me, who missed this dose of fantasy when they were growing up. 🙂 Grab it soon!

I’m pretty sure I’m going to pick up more by Roald Dahl soon. In fact, I already have. I just picked up another of Roald Dahl’s classic books – Matilda – for my sis-in-law’s kid’s birthday the coming Sunday. I’ll be flicking it as soon as he’s done, of course! 😛

Signing off in the hopes that I discover more such wonderful books, and that the only member in my hubby’s family who loves reading, sis-in-law’s kid R, adores the book, falls head-over-heels for it and we swap many more books in the times to come. God bless!

I read this book for the OT 2010 Challenge. The stopover this time was Wales. Wow!

PS: I’m thinking of doing a bit of research in the field of kiddie fiction – just to find out what all I missed as a kid (I’m sure there’s lots I missed out on! 😦 ), and then checking all of it gradually. Suggestions are heartily welcome!

32 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

32 responses to “Charlie And The Chocolate Factory

  1. Praveen

    Watched the movie? Well made one.

  2. I am so glad you liked the book!! Fantastic review and thanks for linking me up! 🙂 Although I am a manic HP fan, I do LOVE Roald Dahl!! Have you tried Enid Blyton’s Magic Faraway Tree series? And if you can, do try to get hold of some Russian Folktales for kids, they are wonderful!

    • priyaiyer

      @Vaishnavi

      Thanks a ton for reminding me of this book! I LOVED it! 🙂
      Yep, I’ve read Enid Blyton’s Faraway Tree series as a kid, but would love to re-read it now. 🙂 Russian folk tales – I think I’ve tried out a couple..

  3. givingreadingachance

    Oh well, I know I have not read this either! I need to, but i have seen part of the movie 🙂

  4. The book, and movie versions, of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory are wonderful and touching.

    It is a great pleasure to read classic children’s literature, whether as a child or adult! 🙂

  5. Great review. I really enjoyed Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator. So, I picked up Mr. Dahl’s “Ah, Sweet Mystery of Life” (adult fiction). That book had dark humor and I didn’t enjoy it that much.

    As for the movies, I enjoyed the first version better than Johnny Depp’s version (I am hating myself for saying this because I love Johnny Depp)…Have fun watching them!

  6. Praveen

    Thanks to this post, I watched the movie yet again 🙂

  7. Praveen

    As someone above mentioned, the first one is better than the 2005 version, but that doesn’t make the Johny Depp one any inferior.

    A few places that you can look out for the DVD on rent;

    Habitat @ Church Street, a few shops after Blossoms. (expensive membership)
    Cinema Paradiso @ Koramangala
    The road side guys might not have it, as it is not a recent film. If you ever go to Majestic, try National Market.

    HBO telecasted it few months back, but again the 2005 one.

    If you really really want it, you are welcome to mail me. I will gladly make a copy of both the versions and send it across.

  8. Praveen

    I dont beleive this! Check out the co-incidence.

    The movie will be telecasted on WB channel @ 12 noon today.

  9. Praveen

    Call home and ask someone to record?

  10. Pingback: The BFG « uniquely priya

  11. Pingback: OT ’10 Wrap-up | uniquely priya

  12. Pingback: Best of 2010 – Books « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

