Ganesh Chaturthi 2010

Ganesh Chaturthi this year was fun, with a lot of homemade bakshanam (all thanks to my mom being here) and family bonding and louvve. πŸ™‚

We normally don’t buy a Pillaiyar idol every year, but do pooja of the same idol – the one that I got from Ahmedabad.

We went to see the diamond-studded Ganesha at Rajajinagar, along with my cousin, and found a very fair-like atmosphere there.

The above pic is courtesy of sis. πŸ™‚

The entire area was brilliantly lit, and there were song and dance programmes going on. Complete with amusement rides, chaat and snacks. πŸ™‚

I loved the decoration at the chilli bajji stall. πŸ˜›

We talked a lot, saw a lot, heard some, ate some, and enjoyed a lot. πŸ™‚

We returned home after stopping at at a couple of other Pillaiyar darshan stalls on the way, all set up by the children of that area.

I particularly loved this one:

And then we made preparations for my nephew’s cutesy birthday party the next day, which, again turned out to be loads of fun. πŸ™‚

That’s that for now, people!

How were the festivities for you guys?

17 Comments

Filed under Occasions, Places

17 responses to “Ganesh Chaturthi 2010

  1. Praveen

    Looks neat.

    Alas, no Ganesh chaturthi for me this year.

    btw can you pls tell me how did you create that contact page? I can’t find the option on my wp. Do you create a new page and make comments pvt?

  2. I didn’t have Ganesh Chaturthi this year. Really missed kozhukkattais. Nice pics

  3. givingreadingachance

    We had, but we don’t celebrate it much! Kannadigas ofcourse go all out πŸ™‚

    Hey I visited your sis’s blog, it is so cool πŸ™‚

  4. Hey Priya…wanted to share with you few pics of Ganesh Chaturthi as celebrated in our little community:

    http://tinypic.com/r/2im5rfm/7
    http://tinypic.com/r/2cg0mkw/7

  5. Me

    Very nice!!!

    We normally don’t buy a Pillaiyar idol every year, but do pooja of the same idol – the one that I got from Ahmedabad...

    …haven’t heard this before…Is this Gujju tradition?….After coming here we buy colored Pillayaars because those are the only ones available at the stores and not the fresh moist clay ones? Oh wait a min…I thought Ganesh grew up in the South? I am confused now…

    • priyaiyer

      @Me

      LOL. ‘I thought Ganesh grew up in the South?’ – for a minute, you had me thinking – ‘Lord Ganesha grew up in the South?’ πŸ˜›

      No, it’s not a Gujju tradition. Gujjus buy Ganesha idols every year and then immerse them in water after the pooja is over. We also used to do that earlier. But now, the idea somehow does not appeal to us, any of us in our family, of immersing Ganesha idols in water. After reading a lot of stuff about the immersions on the net and in magazines and seeing it on TV, reading about the pollution levels and so on, we stopped doing it. We have a Ganesha idol, which we do pooja for every year, but never let go of it. πŸ™‚ Hope that made sense.

      Personally, I love Ganeshas. I am trying to build a collection of Ganesha idols..

      • priyaiyer

        @Me

        It was a unanimous decision by the entire family not to get new idols every year. There are a few other families I know of who follow this, too.

  6. Wow! I never knew abt the Rajajinagar one πŸ™‚
    Luvvvv ur idol Priya. Looks so ethnic πŸ™‚
    Thanks for a nice tour and am drooooling over chilly bhajjis nw πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Wishing ur nephew a very happy birthday πŸ™‚

    • priyaiyer

      @Swaram

      Oh you should have seen the Rajajinagar one. It was so grand…

      Thanks!! I love my idol for just the same reason – it’s so ethnic and colourful! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the wishes!! We all had fun at his kiddie birthday party!!

Leave a Reply

