Jonathan Livingston Seagull

I had read this book long, long ago and forgotten all about it. Last weekend, I read it again, and I am so happy I did!

Richard Bach’s Jonathan Livingston Seagull is an extremley slim book, consisting of only 100 pages of so, but is a wonderfully narrated tale. It is the story of a seagull, Jonathan Livingston, who was different from the herd. Jonathan loved flying and was not content with flying only to steal scraps of fish from the passing boats. He wanted to fly just for the sake of enjoying it, and keep on bettering himself.The seagull society did not understand this, and it was not long before Jonathan was labelled an outcast.

Instead of being dejected over being thrown out of the community, Jonathan practised flying all the more, and excelled at it. He learnt more and more about flying, and reached levels that he himself had never fathomed.

Jonathan Livingston Seagull is the story of us, human beings. It is the story of our society, the groups that we form, and the rules that we follow. There’s a part of Jonathan Livingston Seagull in each one of us, which keeps on dreaming, but we do not always dare to follow those dreams. It’s for the simple way in which I could relate to the boomk that made me like it.

The book might be small, but it is powerful in its impact. I loved the life lessons that Jonathan Livingston Seagull has to teach.The part about dying and the afterworld had me stumped for a while, as in confused, but then I got it. šŸ™‚

I would heartily recommend this book, if you haven’t read it already.

16 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

16 responses to “Jonathan Livingston Seagull

  1. Praveen

    Brillaint book this one! Wish someone makes an animated film our of this for kids.
    Read illusions?

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      I think it has been made into a film already. Not sure if it is animated or not. Yep, read Illusions and liked it a lot, too.

  2. Anu

    Yes…I simply love this book..such an inspirational one!

  3. I remember reading and loving this book quite some years ago too…the allegory is just brilliant!

  4. I haven’t read this, yet, and it sounds lovely. Wonderful review, Priya! šŸ™‚

  5. This sounds like a wonderful book and my library has a copy. I will check it out soon. Thanks for a wonderful review.

  6. When we could relate a book to our life, the author has made true justice to the book. Will try to grab a copy of the book. Nice read Priya.

  7. givingreadingachance

    Someday! I will have this one too šŸ™‚

  8. One of the best books I have read

Leave a Reply

