The BFG

I am in love, hopelessly, with the magical world of Roald Dahl. I just can’t stop reading him! After Charlie And The Chocolate Factory, I simply HAD to read more by Dahl. I am so glad we made an impromptu visit to Blossoms last Sunday, and picked up two more books by him – The BFG and Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator! And I’m already through with one! πŸ™‚ And I can’t wait to start the other one! πŸ™‚

There was a permanent huge grin plastered on my face as I turned page after page of The BFG. The world that Dahl has created is just awesome, and I couldn’t help but wish that I’d discovered him sooner. Somehow, I missed reading all this as a kid. However, better late than never!

The BFG is the story of Sophie – a little, bespectacled, orphan girl, who is kidnapped once in the dead of night from her dormitory. She is terrified to see that the person who has kidnapped her is a 24-foot tall giant, who takes her to Giant Country. Her relief knows no bounds when she learns that her kidnapper is no ordinary giant who swallows human beings whole, but a very sweet and friendly one – called the Big Friendly Giant (BFG). The BFG has taken it upon himself to catch and blow dreams into the bedroom windows of little boys and girls who are fast asleep. Now, how cute is a giant who gets happy when he catches a lovely, sweet dream which will make some little boy very happy?!

Sophie is amazed as she learns more and more about Giant Country – from snozzcumbers and trogglehumpers to frobscottle and whizzpoppers. She and the BFG then embark on one of the bbiggest adventures of their lives.

I was enchanted by the witty way Dahl has with words. I was completely bowled over by the cutesy humour in the story. And I couldn’t stop myself from being charmed by the polite and intelligent Sophie, and the BFG, who never went to school, but taught himself to read and write. I loved the way the BFG and Sophie were always there to protect each other chivalrously. There’s no escape – you have to fall for their heroism!

The BFG is a complete pack – it has everything from humour to morality lessons to adventure and suspense. I adored this book just as much as I did Charlie And The Chocolate Factory. If you missed this book as a kid, or even if you did read it, do pick it up. You will not regret having known the charming Sophie or the BFG who pronounces Charles Dickens as Dahl’s Chickens. πŸ™‚

18 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

18 responses to “The BFG

  1. Praveen

    One of my favourite books, read it some 14 years ago and loved it. Have been lookin for the movie ever since.

  2. once again a good review.
    I just finished Nicholas Sparks’ “Message in a bottle”. This is my first Sparks book and has left a lasting impression in me. Really loved the way he has described relationships.

    • priyaiyer

      @Kalyan

      Thank you!! πŸ™‚
      Nice to know that you liked Sparks. I am a big fan. However, Message In A Bottle is not one of my bestest Sparks books. I loved his other books more – The Wedding, The Guardian, The Notebook, A Walk To Remember and The Notebook. Do try out those!!

  3. I soo miss Blossoms 😦

    • Oops sorry! Submitted well before i put in the whole comment πŸ˜‰

      The BFG is a complete pack – it has everything from humour to morality lessons to adventure and suspense – Cud nt agree more πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      • priyaiyer

        Yep. It is a complete package, all right!! πŸ™‚ Didn’t know you were a bookworm, too! Just found out from your blog. Nice to know. πŸ™‚

  4. givingreadingachance

    Wow, I know I want to read this one. I need to go buy all this for the lil one here πŸ™‚

  5. Praveen

    Did you know Landmark has a sale going on?

  6. Priya, it sounds as if you are completely enchanted by this author. BFG sounds wonderful! πŸ™‚

    • priyaiyer

      @Suko

      Yes, yes, yes, I am totally charmed by this author. πŸ™‚ I’ve picked up yet another book by him. πŸ™‚
      The BFG is an awesome book. You might want to read it to your kids if fantasy fiction is not your cup of tea..

  7. Ava

    Yum, just my thing. He is on my tbr list now!

  8. Pingback: Best of 2010 – Books « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

