The Twits

One more book by Roald Dahl got transferred from the ‘To Be Read’ section of my bookshelf to the ‘Read’ section. I just finished reading The Twits, another of Dahl’s wonderfully entertaining creations.

The Twits is the story of a revolting couple – Mr. and Mrs. Twit, who look just as disgusting as the horrible things that they do, like making birds stick on to a tree in their garden using Hugtight Sticky Glue and then making bird pie out of them, hitting children, keeping a whole family of monkeys caged in their house, and making them constantly stand on their heads so that they can make the first-ever upside down monkey circus in the world. Dahl’s description of the couple make you so hate them, and want to hit them.

Saying anything more would give away the story, so I refrain. I would just say that The Twits is not my most favourite Dahl book, but is just as lovely as the other two books of his that I have read. It is a small book, but adorable indeed. It has the trademark Dahl humour and descriptions, with his special scrumdiddlyumptious words, and his special magical world. It is a book that  I heartily enjoyed reading, and would love to read out to my kids some day.

Definitely recommended to all those who love a dash of magic every now and then.

4 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

4 responses to “The Twits

  1. Priya, I’d never even heard of The Twits before! Isn’t it fun to read many books by a beloved author?! 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Suko

      Oh, you should check out books by Roald Dahl if you haven’t already. I know that my blog looks like I’ve taken over doing PR for Dahl, but it’s worth it. His books are a delight and I wish more and more children would read them. 🙂

      Yes, it is indeed fun to read a number of books in a row, all by a much-loved author.

  2. givingreadingachance

    Oh God, Priya! Thank you for this, seriously I never knew so many books by this author!

Leave a Reply

