Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator

There. It’s confirmed now. I’ve gone bonkers over Dahl. This is the fourth time I’ve shuffled through my To Be Read pile and found nothing satisfactory except Dahl. I started reading Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator, and couldn’t put it down till I finished it.

Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator is a sequel to Charlie And The Chocolate Factory. After Mr. Willie Wonka hands over the charge of the chocolate factory to Charlie, he decides to take Charlie and his family to live in the factory in that big, magical glass elevator of his. The elevator is big enough to house Mr. Wonka, Charlie, his parents, Grandpa Joe and a huge bed with Grandpa George, Grandma Georgina and Grandma Josephine in it. The great glass elevator, being not just an ordinary elevator, can move every which way – sideways, diagonally, upward, downward and even up and out. And up and out is how the elevator moves when Charlie and his family and Mr. Wonka set out in it for the chocolate factory. And it takes them straight to outer space.

Charlie and his family have an adventurous time at the new restaurant that the government of USA has started in space, all thanks to Mr. Wonka. They return to the chocolate factory, only to have some more adventures.

I enjoyed reading this book too, but somehow it didn’t charm me the way Charlie And The Chocolate Factory and The BFG did. I loved the humour of Dahl’s in this book, though, and was literally laughing out loud at parts. Like all of Dahl’s books that I’ve read so far, this one too is full of fun adventures, magic, humour and lessons. I’d definitely recommend it to all fans of fantasy fiction.

11 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

11 responses to “Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator

  1. givingreadingachance

    LOL! Gone bonkers definitely πŸ˜›
    I am sure you are going to make me go buy this guy πŸ˜›

    • priyaiyer

      @Veens

      Hee hee.. I’m trying hard to pick up some other author except Dahl for my next read. πŸ™‚

      You SHOULD buy this guy. πŸ™‚ He’s a must-read.

  2. Praveen

    Ah! Now someone make a movie out of this!

    You picked this from Blossoms?

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      I wish someone made a movie out of this, too!! BTW, I saw Charlie and the Chocolate Factory finally. Liked it, though it is not as charming as the book. πŸ™‚

      Yes, I picked up this book from Blossoms.

  3. Did you buy ALL of his books?

    Priya (**shaking you**) snap out of it…there are other authors than Dahl… πŸ˜›

    Next you should read Neil Gaiman if you haven’t given him a chance.

    • priyaiyer

      @Tanu

      Hee hee. No, I haven’t bought ALL his books, just some of them. πŸ™‚

      Yep, I know I should be reading other authors too, at least once in a while. Trying hard to. πŸ™‚

      Never heard of Neil Gaiman. Will try to read up on the net about him.

    • priyaiyer

      @Tanu

      No, never heard of him 😦
      Thanks for the suggestion. Shall check out his books some time soon. πŸ™‚

  4. I LOVE the cover on this one, and it looks so good on your blog!

    Glad you enjoyed another book by Dahl. I will have to give him a try. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

