Navratri 2010

Remember I told you guys about the Golu at my aunt’s place? She does it every year without fail, but this is the first time I was able to see it. In fact, this is the first time I am seeing Navratri in South India up close, and I am loving this just as much as I love watching the garba and dandia. šŸ™‚

The passion of the people here in collecting dolls from different places throughout the year, painstakingly cleaning and maintaining them, and thinking of the most innovative ways to present them – it all amazes me. And, of course, I love having the sweetmeats to hog. šŸ™‚

I will be doing more posts about Navratri this year, hopefully. I leave you now with some pics of Aunty’s golu.

This is a broad view of the top part of the entire arrangement.

A traditional South Indian marriage, in close up.

A closer view of the dolls.

Seth-Sethani and their brass vessels šŸ™‚ I loved this set of vessels – it has everything from spoons and ladles to traditional Indian vegetable choppers.

Isn’t that dining table just Awww? šŸ™‚

The diyas at the foot of the Golu

I loved some little knick-knacks from the Golu – this Kwality Walls icecream stall was one of them….

… and then this handpump, ….

…. and this masala dosa, idlies, chutney and milagai podi set…

…. and this cutesy little auto rickshaw…

…. and this giant wheel. šŸ™‚

Remember the fable about the fox and the sour grapes?

I really admire Aunty’s patience to visit shops all around the country and select just the right toys for the Golu, like this little red telephone…

… and this cutie pie camera

… not to forget the cricket team šŸ™‚

How did you like the pics? How was your Navratri this year?

22 Comments

Filed under Occasions

22 responses to “Navratri 2010

  1. It’s lovely! I loved those little utensils! They were so cute!

    I remember the Golu that my music teacher used to make – she used to have loads of such quaint stuff! I think I could happily spend hours staring at it all šŸ™‚ Lovely post!

    • priyaiyer

      @Smitha

      Hey, Smitha! Welcome here!
      I don’t know how I came across your blog, but I love reading it. I’m glad you liked this post. šŸ™‚

  2. Anu

    Wow..beautiful collections priya! I loved those ice cream, gaint wheel and ofcourse the dosa set! Very cute collections!

    • priyaiyer

      @Anu

      Glad you liked it, Anu! šŸ™‚
      My personal favourites are the dosa set, the red telephone, the marriage and the dining table..

  3. I wish your post had the “Like” button…Awesome pictures!!!

  4. Nice Pics.. My aunt also has put Golu at her place. But I am so far that I can see only the pics.. Would love to visit it one day. May be next year for sure. Lucky you priya. Those cute small dolls can catch anyone’s attention.

    • priyaiyer

      @Banupriya

      Thanks! Glad you liked the Golu.
      I used to live in Ahmedabad till last year, and my aunt was here in Bangalore. This is the first time I got a chance to see her Golu. šŸ™‚
      Hope you get to see your aunt’s Golu soon. šŸ™‚

  5. Akka,

    I have reviewed the book The Life O’Reilly. Thanks for making me write a review.

  6. Lovely collection. I luvvv collecting all these pretty things all thru the yr too. We usually make a park or something like that and place all these gaadis, giant wheels etc..
    That ice-cream gaadi is so sooo pretty šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚
    Waiting for more pics!

    • priyaiyer

      @Swaram

      Thank you!! It would be lovely to see your golu, too.
      Hopefully, will be posting more golu pics (not from aunty’s house, though) soon. šŸ™‚

  7. Nice Kolu with child centred things as well..here during Navarathri, virtually every evening, it is one (at times even two!) Kolu visits..people have massive Kolus, based on themes sometimes and there are prizes by newspapers et al. Some of the themes I have encountered – Arupadai Veedu (based on certain holy shrines and so on), Navarathri 1-2-3 (where symbolisms were used for every number from 1 to 10, like the sun for 1, two eyes and Shiva-Shakthi for 2, the three Gods for 3, the four Vedas for 4, five elements or something for 5 and so on..upto 10, can remember for 7 – the sapthaswaras, for 9 – the navagrahas, 10 – dasavatharam and so on) all in one Kolu !! Of course, such things are massive in proportion and with regard to efforst required..patience, interest and passion of people are great to see !

    Nice Kolu by your aunt..nice pics..nice that you got to see it šŸ™‚

    Sathej

    • priyaiyer

      @Sathej

      Thanks!! Yes, good that I got to see her Golu for the first time..
      Have heard a lot about the Golus in South India, too, but not had the chance to visit too many. šŸ™‚

  8. Me

    nice golu…btw people who keep golu call seth-sethani as chettiar bommai šŸ™‚

  9. nice to see all bommais(dolls). Thanks for reminding me of my school days. In my school days, we boys together go to each and every home for sundal. different different type of bommais(dolls) in every home. one person will say this time we put 7 steps, another person will say, we put 9 steps, another will say we arranged a cricket ground with grass decoration…. etc.
    in some homes, they ask for a song, we sing and collect sundal. After collecting all sundals, we sit on a place (like thinnai) then we eat together (10-13 variety sundals).

    that was a nice time. it’ll never come back.

Leave a Reply

