Books I am eyeing

I’ve been browsing quite a few book blogs of late, and have fallen in love with some books at first sight. This is a wishlist of sorts, for the moment. I’m sure there’ll be a lot more books I’ll want to collect over time, but this is what I feel like reading now. 🙂

Here goes:

After 84 Charing Cross Road and Daddy Long Legs and The Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Pie Society, I’m in love with personalised stuff, as in letters, journals and scrapbooks. I know I’ll love Beatrix Potter: A Journal.

I want.

This book is so very different, I wanted to lay my hands on it as soon as I read about it. My Little Red Book is about menstrual periods – it’s as different as that. I’m sure it will be a wonderful read.

I want.

I got to know about this book a few days back, and got intrigued instantly by the title. Just ‘e‘. From the reviews that I read for this book on the Internet, it is a ROFL book based in an office. And I’m in the mood for some nice office tales now.

I want.

I heart the cover of this book, and the title, too. I am touched by the story of Things I Want My Daughters To Know – a mother, who is dying, writing letters to her daughters before she passes away, which will help them to overcome the brickbats life throws at them, in spite of her not being around. I haven’t read many reviews for this book, but I have a feeling I would love to read it.

I want.

A monkey who loves reading, defending the virtues of reading a physical book as against digital ones. What’s not to love? Plus, it’s a picture book. All the more fun.

I want.

I don’t know how I missed this book as a kid. Really.  A family finds a bear at the Paddington Railway Station, London, with a note on him that says ‘Please look after this bear’. And they decide to do just that, and name the bear Paddington. How much cuter can it get?!

I want.

The Uncommon Reader is about Queen Elizabeth II discovering books for the first time in her life – her joys and trials with books, and how she defends her newly acquired hobby against those who do not want her reading. Sounds like something I’d love.

I want.

The Complete Calvin And Hobbes Collection – this one costs a bomb, and if I buy it, the family will probably give me looks like I’ve lost it. That doesn’t stop me from drooling over this wonderful collection, and wanting to make it all mine.

I want.

Gosh, I feel like a little kid making his Christmas wishlist for Santa to read, but I sure am loving it. I hope some secret Santa somewhere is listening. 😛

17 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

17 responses to “Books I am eyeing

  1. Ah nice Idea to list out the books your eyeing 🙂

    Book Reviews at BookRack

  2. I love your list. I love Beatrix Potter’s books, so I think her journal would be interesting. We had been to the village she lived and the place she derived all her inspiration. Now I feel like reading this too!

    Have read ‘things I want…’ and it is just beautiful! Paddington bear is a lot of fun as well 🙂 and i have that calvin and hobbes 🙂 it cost a packet but checkout ebay- you might get a decent deal. it is an absolute collectible!

    • priyaiyer

      @Smitha

      Thank you!!
      ‘We had been to the village she lived and the place she derived all her inspiration.’ – Wow! It’s amazing to be able to have a look at REAL tidbits from your favourite authors’ real lives, innit?
      Have to see how I can acquire all of these books. Thanks for the ebay suggestion. 🙂

  3. Swaram

    CnH is totallly worth it 🙂 Luv ur wish-list 🙂

  4. I LOVE this post! It is much like a santa list! I love the look of the Beatrix Potter Journal! I am going to look out for it! Thanks for some great suggestions Priya 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Vaishnavi

      Most welcome! It IS more or less a wishlist for the festive season. 🙂
      I’d love the Beatrix Potter Journal, too. It looks awesome.

  5. Try Anne Fadiman’s Ex Libris. The best book on reading, ever 🙂

  6. Ho, ho, ho!
    Priya, have you been a good little girl?

  7. Anu

    wow! a list of books now! Do you have any OCD to make lists?? 🙂 (jus kidding)
    nice list !! I haven’t heard about any of these books so far! Well..tat’s ignorant me on books! But do write your reviews after reading them. Would love to catch up with some! I’ve just started reading Roald Dahl’s novels now 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Anu

      Hee hee. I just decided to make lists so that I ensure I do everything. 🙂
      Will sure post reviews of the books I do get to read from this list.
      Glad to hear you’re reading Roald Dahl. I love his books!

  8. Well…if you buy The Complete Calvin And Hobbes Collection, can I borrow it? 😀

    I would love to hear your thoughts on The Uncommon Reader. I have been wanting to read that book for a while now.

  9. Pingback: Things I Want My Daughters To Know | uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

