The Japanese Wife

Ever since The Japanese Wife released in April 2010 and I saw the trailers, I knew I HAD to see this movie. I knew I would like it. Finally, I got the chance to watch it yesterday – and I loved it!!

It is the story of two penfriends -Snehamoy (Rahul Bose), a Maths teacher in Bengal, and Miyage, a lady in Japan. They fall in love through their letters and gifts, and gradually, exchange marital vows and wedding rings too, all through letters.

The story does get unbelievable at times – with Snehamoy consulting doctors in Bengal when Miyage falls sick, and sending her medicines from India. However, I cannot deny the fact that the movie is very, very cute.

The acting is perfect, and leaves you wanting for more. The cinematography is brilliant. The romance is oh-so-touching, and I had a constant smile throughout the first half of the movie.

It’s a rather slow-paced film, but none the less entertaining. I couldn’t help myself getting caught up in the lives of Miyage and Snehamoy, even though I knew the story was highly improbable. I couldn’t help feeling happy and sad with them.

Have you seen this movie? What did you feel about it? If not, do grab it immediately!

*****************

I also read Kunal Basu’s short story on which the film is based – from the book The Japanese Wife And Other Stories. The story touched me just as much as the film did.

The short story The Japanese Wife was my Shot # 86 for the 100 Shots of Short Challenge. It is not available online.

21 Comments

Filed under Movies, Reading Ramana

21 responses to “The Japanese Wife

  1. Praveen

    Sorry Priya! I beg to differ.
    I nearly died of boredom watching this. Everytime I played the DVD, I would sulk and put it off, eventually I managed to watch it and wondered why did Aparna Sen make this at all?! She is someone who gave us 15 Park Avenue and Mr and Mrs.Iyer ( 🙂 )! I could only think of Snehamoy as nothing but a loser!
    Why could’nt he just get himself into net and express himself even when times change and he ages! Defies logic and totally out of times. That said and done, I would have relished it had it come out 15 years earlier.
    I must tell you the story was decent in the book.

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      Well, to each his own. I loved the sincere love and devotion that Snehamoy and Miyage share for each other.
      I believe the story is set in times when the Internet and mails were not so much in vogue in India. There is a scene in the movie where Rahul Bose tries to e-mail his wife, but he is unable to find a computer in his village.
      Yes, considered in today’s times, the story does indeed sound unbelievable. Moreover, I was too caught up in the romance and cinematography and brilliant acting to notice any flaws in the movie. 🙂 I did like reading the story, too.
      I loved Mr. and Mrs. Iyer, too. 🙂 Haven’t seen 15 Park Avenue, though.

  2. Praveen

    btw was the movie 2 hrs or 20? 😉

  3. Praveen

    🙂
    I know it is set in different times. But remember when he reaches middle age, the STD man tells him to go to the next lane and mail?
    But yes the devotion is unbelievable! Wonder how many men can be this way though 😀

    Pls watch 15 Park Avenue, have no doubts that u will love it

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      Yes, I agree the story does sound unbelievable at times, but I still loved the movie. Call me a sucker for romance if you want. 😛
      Will check out 15 Park Avenue. Thanks for the suggestion.
      Do not recall that scene exactly. What I recall is that he is unable to find a computer in his immediate surroundings.

  4. Praveen

    hmm
    anyways

    wrkin today?!

  5. Praveen

    🙂
    Can I remind Mr.Iyer that Enthiren is pending 😛

  6. havent read/seen this book/movie. But sounds fascinating the way you describe it

    • priyaiyer

      @Bedazzled

      Thank you. Do check it out whenever possible.
      As I said to Praveen, the movie does sound unbelievable at times, and it is slow paced, for sure. But if you like movies set in a different age, with lots of love and dedication, perfect acting and brilliant photography, you’ll like this. It left me touched, at least.

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      Oh, yeah? Thanks for the link.
      Will check it out. But doubt I would like to see a movie on YouTube, though. 😦

  7. givingreadingachance

    I had always wanted to read this one, and I was very happy when this was made into a movie. Thanks for the reminder, I need to read or watch this 🙂

  8. Pingback: First lines meme « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

