To the joy of just being! :)

I had forgotten how lovely it feels to just be – to just sit and look around and not lift a finger. I had forgotten how glorious it feels to just be out in the open on a perfect day when there’s just the right amount of cold in the air, caressing you, and the sky is overcast, as if protecting you from the harshness of the sun. I had forgotten how wonderful it is to laze around outside a mall with a book and observe the goings-on for hours on end, with not a care of what next. In the midst of work, we-time, and family, I had forgotten the wonders that some me-time can do for the soul.

I was reminded of all of this and more the past weekend, when the hubby dropped me at a mall early in the morning on his way to work, promising to pick me up in the evening. I did nothing the whole day except look around the mall, eat and drink coffee, observe people, buy some stuff, take in the weather (which, luckily, happened to be awesome), and read a delightful book. No wonder when the better half messaged in the afternoon to ask ‘Are you bored?’, he got a response on the lines of ‘Not at all. I’m loving it out here, and want to be here all day.’ He later told me he could feel how high I was, from my voice and my messages.

I dare say the day transformed me in ways I cannot put down in words. Late in the evening, the better half picked up a very changed wife, who was all smiles and peace and glow, who couldn’t stop gushing about her ‘day off’. God knows, I really needed it.

Here’s to the joy of doing nothing, the lift that some me-time can give your soul, to being high on life!

18 Comments

Filed under Everyday polambals, Musings

18 responses to “To the joy of just being! :)

  1. Any comment wouldn’t do justice to this beautiful post..shall just say can relate so much to it and am happy for you for several things..

    Sathej

  2. givingreadingachance

    wow! I would give anything for a day like this, Priya. I am so jealous 😛

  3. For a day like this… I go by myself to malls and shopping centres but more often than not, I have such a huge list that needs doing that shopping becomes stressful 😦

    I so want a day like this, to laze around do nothing.. I think I need a spa break 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Smitha

      It used to happen to me too – shopping becoming stressful with a longggggggggggg to-do list. 😦
      Now I make it a point to take off to a mall or shopping centre just to idle away and relax a day or two AFTER all major shopping and other work is done. 🙂

      I would so, so, so love a spa visit now. 🙂

  4. 🙂 sounds like a blissful day !!

  5. It does sound like you had a very relaxing time. 🙂

  6. Sounds so much like what I wud hv written abt some me-time 🙂 I wud not trade it for anything else 😉 Here’s wishing u many more such moments 🙂

  7. Wow! Blissful me-time 🙂 Enjoy such days while you can 😀

    • priyaiyer

      @Priya

      Yes, it was just Wow! 🙂
      Thanks for the reminder. I will enjoy such days to the fullest ‘while I can’. 😀

  8. Sounds lovely! There is this book store here in Chennai where I go to do just that. Hope you had a wonderful time 🙂

  9. Beautiful post! Hopped in from Imsai’s!

Leave a Reply

