Kerala diaries -1 :)

Kerala had been on my must-visit places list for, like, forever. The better half has visited it umpteen times – for personal and work reasons – and has always wanted to show the place to me. I was in awe of the beautiful picture he painted in my mind, and I had read a lot about this God’s Own Country to be craving to visit it at every possible chance. We finally got a chance to plan a Kerala trip when the better half’s cousin bro announced, a couple of months back, that he would be getting married in November, in Kerala. The tickets were booked, leaves were appliedΒ  for, and we waited with bated breath for our holiday to begin. The trip finally happened – and I am so, so, so happy we could make it. It is a lovely place – lovely would be an understatement.

The better half and me decided to have a couple of quiet days in Cochin and Kumarakom alone, before we went to Thrissur for the wedding, meet our family there,Β  and then proceed to Guruvayoor to the famous Krishna temple there. The hubby had planned it all really well. It was the first time the both of us, his family and my family were all going together on a trip, and the excitement factor was high. I’m happy that the trip was just wonderful, and what I saw of Kerala is every bit as beautiful as what I had dreamt of.

****************

Day 1

Our first stop was at Cochin aka Kochi. After a bit of relaxing, we took off for sightseeing.

We went to the Basilica of Our Lady of Vallarpadom – a beautiful church in Cochin. I loved the picture of the white building of the church standing out against the azure sky. It’s a picture-perfect church – quiet, neat and spacious.

From the church, we took off to the nearby Cherai Beach. The hour-long drive to the beach was wonderful, and that is putting it mildly. I LOVED the drive through rural Kerala, seeing the country life.

It was a weekend when we visited, and the beach was crowded, but nonetheless lovely. We loved the feeling ofΒ  standing in the water and just allowing it to wash all the stress away. Isn’t that an amazing feeling?

It was fun watching the sights, smelling the smells and hearing the sounds of the beach. For the nth time, I realised that I LOVE beaches, and can practically live on one. πŸ™‚

If there was any stress left over after being knee-deep in the soothing waters, it was entirely gone watching the sunset at the beach. It was an AMAZING experience watching the sky turn from blue to golden to red over the calm water. Everything in life seems perfect just then. πŸ™‚

Now I perfectly understand what ‘sundown’Β  means. πŸ™‚

That’s the last picture I have in my mind of the first day of our holiday – the two of us watching the sun go down over a golden mass of water, sipping hot chai, nibbling mirchi bajjis and just being happy to be in the moment and in our togetherness.

I hope to post more about the trip soon. πŸ™‚

14 Comments

Filed under Places

14 responses to “Kerala diaries -1 :)

  1. praveen

    Have visited Guruvayur a couple of times as a kid. Kochi is too good. Did you guys visit Alapuzha, Haripad et all, they are just an hour and a half drive from there. So more comin up right?

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      Yes, there is more coming up. We didn’t visit Alapuzha and Haripad. All we could cover was Kochi, Kumarakom, Thrissur and Guruvayoor. We just wanted to have a relaxed time. That’s why. Maybe we’ll make a proper sight-seeing trip later. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh u r rt. It’s indeed amazing hw the waves wash away all our stress.
    Luved the 3rd and 4th pics of the sunset esp. πŸ™‚

    • priyaiyer

      @Swaram

      Agree entirely. Just being on a beach can melt all my stress away, just looking at all that water, even if I don’t go inside it. πŸ™‚
      Thanks!! πŸ™‚

  3. These photos are truly awe-inspiring! Spectacular! πŸ™‚

  4. nice pictures and the write up – too good.

  5. Lovely photos.. The beach ones are especially inviting !I have never been to Kumarakom,so thats one more place to visit on my “To see” list

    • priyaiyer

      @Bedazzled

      Thanks! πŸ™‚
      The photos are of Cherai Beach at Kochi.
      I’ll be posting more pics soon, of Kumarakom, Fort Kochi and Guruvayoor.

  6. Anu

    Finally the much awaited!! Loved your travelogue! I know..kerala has such an unspoilt nature, and no wonder why its’ called “God’s own country’. Brought me back good ol’ memories at Cherai beach with S.
    Loved all your pictures, especially you witnessing the sundown! Awesome!

  7. I am so glad you had so much fun! And what lovely photos! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Do write more about the trip πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

