Book fair loot :)

What do you do when you are back from a week-long trip on the last day of a gorgeous book fair in your city, you are tired to the bones, you need a good sleep, the plumber is banging away hard and repairing the leak in your bathroom, the better half gets extremely busy in this and that, there is loads of washing and cleaning up to be done, the house is in a mess, and you are dreading going to work the next day?

A)       You just ignore everything and go to sleep

B)       You just ignore everything and go to the book fair, alone

C)      You set about completing the household chores, and forget about the book fair

Well, that was my situation when we returned from Kerala last Sunday. I learnt that it was the last day of the Bangalore Book Festival 2010.

What do you think I would have done? No prizes for guessing the correct answer! I was darn tempted to follow A). But I didn’t. I did what a true bibliophile does, and followed option B). I went ahead and visited the book fair – after all, I loved it last year, and it was a once-in-a-year opportunity. And I really, honestly, sincerely didn’t regret my decision. The book fair was every bit worth the trouble I took. 🙂

I did pick up some good bargains this year as well. These are the books that I got:

Alphabet Weekends by Elizabeth Noble


Summary from Elizabeth Noble’s site:

Natalie and Tom have been best friends forever, but Tom wants them to be much more. When Natalie’s longtime boyfriend walks out on her just when she thinks he’s going to propose, Tom offers her a different and wildly romantic proposition. He suggests that they spend twenty-six weekends together, indulging in twenty-six different activities from A to Z, and at the end of that time Tom’s convinced they’ll be madly in love. Natalie, however, is not so sure.

I quite liked Elizabeth Noble’s Things I Want My Daughters To Know, and wanted to read more by her. When I saw Alphabet Weekends priced very cheap, of course, I couldn’t resist.

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith

Summary from Randhomhouse.com:

This first novel in Alexander McCall Smith’s widely acclaimed The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series tells the story of the delightfully cunning and enormously engaging Precious Ramotswe, who is drawn to her profession to “help people with problems in their lives.” Immediately upon setting up shop in a small storefront in Gaborone, she is hired to track down a missing husband, uncover a con man, and follow a wayward daughter. But the case that tugs at her heart, and lands her in danger, is a missing eleven-year-old boy, who may have been snatched by witchdoctors.

I had read a lot about Alexander McCall Smith books, and wanted to try them out. I saw a reasonably priced copy at the book fair, and knew my chance had come.

Matilda by Roald Dahl

Summary from Amazon.com:

Matilda is an extraordinarily gifted four-year-old whose parents are a crass, dishonest, used-car dealer and a self-centered, blowsy bingo addict, regard her as “nothing more than a scab.” Life with her beastly parents is bearable only because Matilda teaches herself to read, finds the public library, and discovers literature. Also, Matilda loves using her lively intelligence to perpetrate daring acts of revenge on her father. This pastime she further develops when she enrolls in Crunchem Hall Primary School, whose headmistress, Miss Trunchbull, is “a fierce tyrannical monster . . . .”

A little girl who learns about literature for the first time ever, who fights against the injustices perpetrated against her, and Roald Dahl’s writing. Of course, I had to pick up this book, especially when it was so beautifully priced!

That’s about my exploits at the book fair this year. I do look forward to some lovely hours of reading. 🙂

What about you? Did you make it to the fair or not? What did you pick up? I’d love to know!

18 Comments

Filed under Places, Reading Ramana

18 responses to “Book fair loot :)

  1. Amazing loot this! =) I’ve read Noble’s The Reading Group and I loved it. The cover of Alphabet Weekends is lovely.

    I was underwhelmed by McCall Smith’s No 1 Ladies Detective Agency. But his writing is still lovely and worth reading 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Kals

      I was intrigued by The Reading Group too, but was slightly hesitant to buy it, looking at the number of negative reviews I read about the book on the Internet. But I have a feeling I should like it.
      Oh, I loved the cover of Alphabet Weekends, too.
      BTW, you should try out Things I Want My Daughters To Know by Elizabeth Noble if you haven’t read it already. It’s lovely.
      I have been wanting to read the No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency ever since I saw part of the movie. Thought I should give myself a chance reading it. Let’s see how I fare. 🙂

  2. Yay! You got The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency book! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Matilda should also be fun to read. 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Suko

      Yep, I did pick it up. Hope I like it, too. 🙂
      Roald Dahl books have got to be fun – no doubts about Matilda. : )

  3. what a cute post to brighten up a monday morning ! love your loot .. I havent read matilda.. but have seen the movie and liked it. Alphabet weekends sounds like a fun book too .. enjoy!.

  4. Praveen

    🙂 glad u made it.

    I picked up Vishnu on Freud’s desk for a fantastic price and also a free copy of the Quran in English. Yet to finish them.

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      Never heard of the book before. What all complicated stuff you read! 🙂
      I picked up a free copy of the Quran (English) too last year. Yet to read it, though. For that matter, yet to read some of the books I picked up at the fair last year. 😦

      • Praveen

        hehe it makes an interesting read. btw that Quran’s translation is bad, doesnt make an interesting read wrt language.

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      Oh, is it?
      I plan to read it when my mind is a little less occupied. And that has just not been happening. 😦

  5. Yai! I am so happy for you! I have been looking for the first book in the ladies detective agency for a long time now! Good that you found it! I wish you many many happy hours of reading!

    • priyaiyer

      @Vaishnavi

      Thanks for the wishes! 🙂
      I had been looking for a reasonably priced copy of the No. 1 too, for quite some time. So glad I found it. Hope I like it. 🙂

  6. What an awesome loot that one!

  7. Praveen

    Strand Book Fest @ Basava Bhavan I heard.

  8. Veens

    I sometimes wish to be living in B’Lore badly lol! then when i am there, i wish to be back to Mysore badly lol!

    for this and more i want to be in BLore. Gosh, i would have loved to be in this book festival. ENjooy!

Leave a Reply

