OT ’10 Wrap-up

It feels good to be telling you guys that I’m done with the Orbis Terrarum Challenge 2010. I’ve been taking up this Challenge for the last 3 years now, and it always amazes me with the new horizons it makes me explore.

These are the books I read for this year’s Challenge:

1. Malgudi Schooldays – RK Narayan (India)

2. Bridget Jones: The Edge Of Reason – Helen Fielding (England)

3. Illusions – Richard Bach (USA)

4. Totto Chan: The Little Girl At The Window – Tetsuko Kuroyanagi (Japan)

5. Charlie And The Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl (Wales)

6. The Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Pie Society – Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows (USA)

7. The Book Of Tomorrow – Cecelia Ahern (Ireland)

8. Things I Want My Daughters To Know – Elizabeth Noble (USA)

It would be wrong to say that I did not learn anything about other cultures through this Challenge, or that I did not have fun. I enjoyed reading each and every book out of this list. I do, however, notice that my reading choices have become weaker over the years. Most of these books are light reads, and not really indicators of the culture of the author’s country. And that pinches me, somewhere. I want to be true to the goal of the Challenge, and not be forced by lack of time, stress and the ups and downs of life to just read something for the sake of completing the Challenge. I am doubtful about reading for a Challenge henceforth. I’d rather read two books in a year, which really talk to me about a country’s culture. I don’t know if this makes sense to you guys, but that’s how I’ve been feeling.

I think, from 2011 onwards, I’ll be setting myself free in the world of reading. I’ll read the books I should be reading, unfettered. I’ll read just for the pleasure of reading. No offense meant to all those of you who host these brilliant Challenges – I have to be thankful to you guys for opening up a whole new world for me.

What do you think, guys? I would love to know your thoughts on this.

6 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

6 responses to “OT ’10 Wrap-up

  1. I’ve had to cut back on my reading challenges as well. Much as I loved them, they got to be too much pressure at times, and detracted from the pure pleasure of reading. I don’t want reading to seem like “homework”! 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Suko

      Oh, I didn’t know you used to do reading challenges, too. As of now, I think I’ll not be reading for challenges from the next year onwards.

  2. Veens

    Well, these books are definitely not what the challenge really requires, but u can cheat on 1 or 2 🙂

    I did not complete this challenge, but love it 🙂

    I hope to do this nxt year, and do it better 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Veens

      Oh, I love the Challenge too, and how much it has changed me and my reading habits. I don’t like the cheating part, though. 😦

  3. Interesting challenge but I hv never been part of one and am not too sure if I will be part of one. It’s nice to take one such challenge, but I choose my books depending on my mood and last year, I remember reading most of them by Indian authors alone. Might be I could connect well with the writing! Whatever the reason, I so enjoyed whatever I read though.
    Lemme go check what all I would love to pick up from ur list now 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Swaram

      Yes, the challenge is definitely very interesting. I want to give myself the chance to read according to my mood in the next year, at least. 🙂

Leave a Reply

