Kerala Diaries – 3 :)

Day 3

Day 3 of the trip saw us checking into one of the houseboats at Kumarakom – one of the must-do things when you are in Kerala. I fell in love with the houseboats as soon as I set my eyes on them. It is an AMAZING experience being in one, and you SHOULD try it if you haven’t already.

The captain took us for a sail over the Vembanad Lake, and it was a sure-shot stress buster – doing nothing but relaxing amidst the bounty of nature, in a beautiful boat equipped with all the basic facilities, over quiet waters, watching other houseboats pass by, reading, and clicking pictures. The above picture is that of a houseboat we passed on the way.

Those are pictures of the living room, kitchen and a passage in the boat that we stayed in. I was amazed to find it EXACTLY like a house – with the only difference being that this house floats on water. πŸ™‚ We had an awesome cook on our houseboat, which made our stay all the more enjoyable and wonderful.

I still remember waking up the next morning on the boat – to the sight of drawn curtains, sunlight streaming in, and glorious water for miles on end, fishermen starting their day.

That is a picture I took from our boat – admiring the scenic beauty of the place for the nth time.

On Day 4, after another short sail, the boat dropped us at the resort that the better half had booked for us. And that is a tale for another day. πŸ™‚

17 Comments

Filed under My pics, Places

17 responses to “Kerala Diaries – 3 :)

  1. Priya, it’s a real treat to see these photos. It looks very lovely. I remember a friend who had a houseboat in NY, which I never saw but always thought was such an interesting idea.

  2. Lovely! We missed the houseboat experience last time due to lack of time. Must do it soon πŸ™‚

  3. totally loved going through virtual kerala tour thru your kerala diaries posts πŸ˜€

  4. Oh Kerala! You make me long to go visit! πŸ™‚ Lovely pictures!

    • priyaiyer

      @Vaishnavi

      Thank you!! πŸ™‚

      Kerala is a beautiful place. I loved whatever I saw of it, and my only regret was that we didn’t have time for more. You should go there, if you haven’t visited already.

  5. Anu

    wow!! Amazing! I always love houseboats, but couldn’t do it. I’m so glad you made it, and thanks a ton for sharing this dear!! If you have heard a tamil song ‘nenjangootil neeye’…your pics reminds me of this song!!

  6. nice houseboat. It should have been a wonderful experience staying in it.

  7. nice pics.. the houseboat looks like a lot of fun !

  8. I want to go sailing away in a houseboat very badly πŸ™‚ Looks like you had a lovely time πŸ™‚

    • priyaiyer

      @Vaishnavi

      It is a lovely experience. Do go whenever possible. πŸ™‚
      And yes, we had an awesome time. Wish the holiday could have been longer, though. 😦

Leave a Reply

