Alphabet Weekends

I loved Elizabeth Noble’s Things I Want My Daughters To Know, and so, when I got hold of her Alphabet Weekends, I started reading it almost immediately. And it was, indeed, another lovely read.

Alphabet Weekends is majorly the story of Tom and Natalie – childhood friends who have known each other for what seems like forever. They know each other in and out, but somehow never thought of anything beyond friendship. Natalie is  dumped by her long-time boyfriend Simon, just when she thought he was going to propose to her. She is devastated. Tom thinks of a game – Alphabet Weekends – to cheer her up: he decides that every weekend, he and Natalie would do an activity beginning with a letter of the alphabet. To get her interested, Tom tells her that he is sure Natalie would fall for him by the end of 26 Alphabet Weekends. Natalie agrees, just for the heck of it. And so, the game begins – with A for Abesailing.

The author has beautifully intertwined the stories of two other couples with that of Natalie and Tom – Tom’s brother Patrick and his wife Lucy, and Natalie’s father Nicholas and her mother Anna. All three couples are facing problems of their own, and the author has put down the complexities in a simple but effective way. This book too is rather long, but it is entertaining and lovely throughout.

It is quite a predictable story, but I loved reading it all the same, because it is beautifully written. I liked the way the book ends, and I have to thank the author for not making it all Bollywoodish and unrealistic.

It is a simple, cosy, light read, full of emotion and warmth. It is a chicklit book, but not just unrealistic mush and melodrama – much more than that. I would say I enjoyed reading this book. It is perfect for cuddling up with on chillingly cold winter days when you don’t want to do anything else.

Go for it!

9 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

9 responses to “Alphabet Weekends

  1. Lovely review for a lovely sounding book! I want I want I want! I am getting The Reading Group as a gift but I love the sound of this one too! I will see if I can find it somewhere!

    • priyaiyer

      @Vaishnavi

      Thank you!! It is a nice read, for sure. Do check it out whenever you get a chance. 🙂
      I want to read The Reading Group, too, badly. 🙂

  2. I hv nt read this one. Thanks for the lovely review 🙂

  3. I loved your review. Another book added to the TBR list. It seems like the TBR list is growing faster than my “Read” list. 😀

  4. Anu

    Haven’t read any of E.Noble’s book! Thanks for sharing your reviews! I will look for this author’s book now!

Leave a Reply

