Best of 2010 – Books

Since 2010 is coming to a close, it is only appropriate that I do a kind of wrap-up post for the books I’ve enjoyed this year. And when I saw this meme on Misha’s blog, I knew it was the perfect format for me. So, here goes:
1. Best book of 2010?
2. Worst book of 2010?
My worst book in 2010 was Slow Waltz In Cedar Bend. It was a big, big, big letdown after The Bridges Of Madison County, a book that I loved like anything.

3. Most Disappointing Book of 2010?

The Book Of Tomorrow. It was a disappointment after having read and loved PS: I Love You. Oliver’s Story was a major disappointment, too, after Love Story.

4. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2010?
Into The Wild. I never expected to enjoy a proper non-fiction book as much as I enjoyed this one.

5. Book you recommended to people most in 2010?

All the ones in my first answer.

6. Best series you discovered in 2010?
The Secret Diary Of Adrian Mole is the only series I read in 2010, but I would not call it my favourite. I would rather put Daddy Long Legs as my answer, as it does have a sequel (though not a typical series) and I really enjoyed reading it.

7. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2010?

Roald Dahl (I’m in love with his books!)

Helene Hanff (I really adored her witty letters)

Elizabeth Noble (I’ve ordered more of her books, and can’t wait to start reading them)

Thrity Umrigar (Her The Space Between Us was tragic, but I still loved her writing style)

8. Most hilarious read of 2010?

Haven’t really read comedy in the past year, but I would say Malgudi Schooldays made me laugh. Also, Bridget Jones – The Edge Of Reason. It was too chick-lit for my taste (the kind I’ve grown out of), but I can’t deny that it was funny.

10. Book you most anticipated in 2010?

11. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2010?
The Life O’Reilly. I just drooled at that cover.


12. Most memorable character in 2010?

Helene Hanff from 84, Charing Cross Road
Barbara in Things I Want My Daughters To Know
The Big, Friendly Giant in The BFG

13. Most beautifully written book in 2010?

Things I Want My Daughters To Know

84, Charing Cross Road

Charlie And The Chocolate Factory – and the most yummy book as well

The BFG

The Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Pie Society

14. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2010?

Things I Want My Daughters To Know – It forced me to think about the little things I would want my loved ones to know after my death, and talk to them about it, much to their disapproval. I’m glad I did that, though, for life is very unpredictable and one never knows.

84, Charing Cross Road – It forced me to start writing letters and surprise notes again, after years.

Jonathan Livingston Seagull – It made me more comfortable with being ‘uniquely’ me.

15. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2010 to finally read?

Love Story and Malgudi Schooldays. The WHOLE WIDE WORLD had read them before I did. Anyways, better late than never!
16 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

16 responses to “Best of 2010 – Books

  1. Priya, what an interesting meme! This is a good way to organize your thoughts about the past year of reading. I will keep some of these books in mind for 2011. I’m glad you mentioned Brian Cohen’s book(cover). 🙂

  2. priyaiyer

    @Suko

    Thanks! It is indeed a nice format to talk about your memories of the books you read last year. 🙂

  3. Wow! I love your in depth analysis of the books you read in 2010. I have picked up a few to add to my ‘must-read’ list too 🙂

  4. Banupriya

    Nice and witty answers Priya. I am with you to read Love Story this year after the whole lot out there has read. Seeing you make me read more and more. Happy New year 2011.

    • priyaiyer

      @Banupriya

      Thank you!! I have already read Love Story. What I meant in the post was I read Love Story after almost everyone had read it. Glad I could inspire you to read more. 🙂

      Wish you a very happy new year 2011 too! 🙂

  5. I really need to read Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Society! Clearly, it’s a good one!

    • priyaiyer

      @Aarti

      Oh yeah, you so totally should! It’s a lovely, delightful read. 🙂 BTW I am surprised you haven’t read it already!!

      May I take the liberty to recommend Helene Hanff’s 84, Charing Cross Road, too, if you haven’t read it by now? It’s another lovely read, must-read for book lovers.

  6. Veens

    Great meme! Definitely something that will get me a little organized lol!

    Awesome books, I know I need to read some books you recommend 🙂

  7. nice post.. apart from the potato peel society book,i havent read any of your favs for 2010.I guess i’ll do this meme too..and toto chan & 84 charring cross has been on my list for a while now..

  8. Ava

    Great list. I have read many many wonderful books this year, and not written about them 😦

  9. Swaram

    Wow! Thatz a lovely meme. I might take it up sometime too. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

