Drool Fest :)

Hey, guys! Hope you all are doing fine!

We got a chance to attend the 36th Annual Bangalore Cake Exhibition last weekend, and did we love it?! The exhibits were awesome this year, too, and we had a lovely time drooling over them, in spite of the HUGE crowd. For the uninitiated, the Cake Exhibition is an annual exhibition of cakes held in Bangalore, usually around Christmas time, generally at the St. Joseph High School grounds.

There is a particular highlight chosen for the exhibition each year, and the central piece of the exhibition is modelled around this theme. This year’s highlight is a cake modelled on the Taj Mahal Hotel of Mumbai, which faced serious damage in the 2008 terrorist attacks.

Also worth mentioning are the various stalls selling chaat and other food stuff at the exhibition. We find them awesome, and hog ourselves silly there. 🙂

Here are some pictures from this year’s exhibition, for your drooling viewing pleasure.:)

That is the replica of the Taj Hotel. Isn’t it awesome? I really admire the creativity involved in making such stuff – the hundreds of man hours required, the tonnes of cream and sugar that goes into it, and the amount of patience involved in creating something like this literally out of scratch.

The above two pics are of ‘Santa Villa’ and the cutesy little garden it had. With Christmas just around the corner and the festive spirit making an appearance everywhere, it was apt. I especially loved the garden. I wish I could go there and sit for a while! 🙂

That pic is that of a wedding cake – one of the tallest I have ever seen.

That is another wedding cake – my personal favourite at the exhibition this year. I loved everything about this cake – from the light pink colour, to the flowers and the bride and groom on the top. 🙂

That, needless to say, is a replica of a grandpa clock. Doesn’t it look awfully real?

The better half loved the above two cakes – a boat house and a treasure chest. The chest especially looks so real, innit?

That is another wedding cake – a multi-tiered one.

The above two pics are of Humpty Dumpty and Bunny House. Cute, aren’t they?

That pic is another one of my favourite cakes at this year’s festival – a pretty flower basket. Which of these is your favourite?

I’m not sure whether these cakes would taste as good as they look, but we sure had a lovely time looking at them.

Did you go to the exhibition? If not, do visit it before December 27. Highly recommended. 🙂

 

29 Comments

Filed under My pics, Places

29 responses to “Drool Fest :)

  1. Praveen

    Used to visit it during my school days, but of late no patience to stand in Q and wait for it 🙂

    I love it though!

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      I know!! The queue at the exhibition is always HUGE. But I love seeing the cakes so much that I put up with it. 🙂

  2. Oh I so miss the cake exhibition. Thanks so much for sharing the pics 🙂
    I loved the 2 wedding cakes – so pleasing to the eyes 🙂

  3. Lovely!! Thanks for sharing Priya 🙂
    I loved the pink wedding cake, the flower basket and the garden/lawn. Granpa clock looks so real!

    • priyaiyer

      @Priya

      You are welcome. 🙂
      Yep, the grandpa clock looked really awesome. Very realistic. Those three are my favourites too. 🙂

  4. oh wow ! drool fest it is.. i cant decide what i like teh best.. maybe that treasure chest thing and the multi-tiered wedding cake

  5. That is a drool fest! I wish I could see it too! The cakes look wow! I esp love the treasure chest cake!

  6. Anu

    Oh wow! Am already drooling at these 🙂
    Mouth water! What a creativity in each of them! I salute to their artistic ability and patience in doing them!
    Loved the multi-tier and pink wedding cake! And of course the replica of Taj is bravo!

  7. Are these really cakes? Wow! Your photos are superb. They highlight the majestic cakes, not the huge crowds.

    • priyaiyer

      @Suko

      Thank you!! I deliberately didn’t take pictures of the crowd. 🙂
      Yes, these are all really cakes. Look awesome in reality.

  8. Your cake photos are superb.Nice blog
    anandhirajan

  9. Praveen

    watch manmatha ambu with better half. u will love it

  10. What I would not give to eat one of them 🙂 🙂 So, what do they do with all the cakes, after the exhibition? 🙂

    Destination Infinity

    • priyaiyer

      @DI

      They look so pretty – I wouldn’t like to eat them at all. 😦
      Interesting question. I have no idea what they do with the cakes after the exhibition. Have wondered about it many a time.

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      He he. I knew there was a Kamal film coming up, but didn’t know what it was called. I don’t follow Tamil movies so much. HOnestly, I don’t follow anything except Hindi movies, and that too, I’m not a very avid movie goer. Not that I don’t love watching movies. Uff! Very difficult to explain. 🙂

  11. Praveen

    Haha thats ok lady!

    I recommended coz romantics like u will surely enjoy this film. Trust me and this is shot in a cruise 🙂

  12. Praveen

    And I dont watch many Hindi films, most of them are not even worth watchin it on DVD or TV, unless they are made by Anuraag kashyap 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Praveen

      I agree.. these days Hindi movies are not worth watching even on DVD or TV, but some of them are… What I usually do is go by the reviews and the storyline and only pick up those I think will enjoy. 🙂

      Will check out the links of Manmatha Anbu for sure…

  13. Veens

    What a yummilicious post!

Leave a Reply

