New Year’s eve

That was the gift that Nature gave us this New Year’s eve – the first orchid of the season bloomed at our house on the night of December 31, 2010. All forms of new life touch me, and make me emotive. So did this lovely co-incidence – that made the better half and me extremely happy, and made the occasion extra-special. 🙂

Aside, I ushered in the New Year quietly at home, watching TV with the hubby and sharing chocolate. After a fun evening spent snacking at gola and chaat. 🙂

Sheila Ki Jawani and Munni Badnaam Hui were the first two songs we heard in the New Year. I wonder what it says about how our year is going to be. LOL.

How was New Year’s eve for you?

21 Comments

Filed under My pics, Occasions

21 responses to “New Year’s eve

  1. OMG! Thatz so pretty 🙂

  2. sounds like a lovely way to usher in the new year..Orchids in India? wow!!The bloom looks lovely.

  3. Priya, I also adore orchids. Mine have spikes and are getting ready to bloom.

    We had a small, early get together with desserts and wine on New Year’s Eve. Happy New Year, Priya! 🙂

  4. I am impressed that orchids are blooming here!It looks beautiful!
    And a night with a loved one and chocolate sounds like the ideal way to usher in the new year!

  5. Veens

    Perfect little thing!

  6. Veens

    I got a 2nd hand copy of Snow Flower and Secret Fan from Flipgraph. I went and checked and they do not have anymore there. My copy was good, it was as good as new, so it was superb deal for me. :o)

    • priyaiyer

      @Veens

      Oh ok. Thanks for the info.
      Lucky you!!
      I checked on FlipGraph too, but all they have is very very expensive copies which will blow a hole in my wallet. 😦 Looking for a comparatively cheaper copy.

  7. Wow! I love this one 🙂
    Where did you get this from? I so want to have one!!
    I usually buy a spike and it lasts almost a month n a half. I guess this one on the plant will last much longer.

    • priyaiyer

      @Priya
      Thank you!! The flowers usually last for about 1-1/2 to 2 months.
      I got the plant from the Flower Show at Palace Grounds in 2009. There was a shop exclusively for orchids there. I badly wanted to visit the Show in 2010, but never got info about it. Not sure if it was held or not.
      Let me know if you need more info. I think the guy I got the plant from has a branch in Bangalore, too. Not really sure, though.

  8. Oh my! I got so carried away by the orchid 😀
    Wish you a great new year 🙂

  9. OMG, that orchid looks so beautiful. How lovely that it bloomed just in time for new year 🙂

    Wish you a very happy new year!

    • priyaiyer

      @Nishita

      Thank you!! Yes, it was lovely that the flower bloomed exactly on the night of 31st Dec. 🙂 Right on time for New Year’s eve.

      Wish you a great new year too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

