A Bear Called Paddington

We had ordered my copy of A Bear Called Paddington just before Diwali. It finally arrived last Saturday, after getting stuck at a lot of places, over 2 months after I placed the order, just when I was itching for a comfort read. And, of course, I grabbed it with both hands and began to read it even before the courier guy had a chance to get out of our house. And finished it in no time.

A Bear Called Paddington is the story of a young bear who escapes from Darkest Peru, his home, and lands up at Paddington Railway Station, London. He is wearing a rather sad and scared expression, sitting on his suitcase, feeling lost, with a sign around his neck saying ‘Please take care of this bear. Thanks.’ That’s how Mr. and Mrs. Brown find him at the station, and decide to make him a part of their family. And life is never the same for them and their two kids – Judy and Jonathan – ever after. The Browns name the young bear Paddington, in memory of the station at which they found him.

Paddington is the kind of bear who keeps getting into scrapes – his life is an endless series of (mis)adventures. Not the harmful kind of scrapes, but fun ones, which ultimately make everyone around him laugh their hearts out, and fall more in love with him. He is the kind of bear who makes life cheerful just by being with people. He is the kind of bear to whom unique things happen, which do not usually happen to normal people. And I could relate to that feeling.

What can I say about this book that hasn’t already been said yet? It’s a lovely, delightful read, dripping with cuteness. I LOVED it. Paddington Bear is the epitome of honesty, politeness, and fun – and I adored him. I fell in love with him and his adventures instantly. I went ‘Awwww’ as soon as I had opened the book and read the first chapter. The book was like hot soup on a cold day – it warmed me from within. The better half thought I had lost it when he found me grinning while reading the book. The illustrations in the book by Peggy Fortnum are oh-so-awesome-and-cute that you can’t help admiring them.

Some research on the net showed me that I’m not the only person to love Paddington. He has innumerable fans across the globe. A bronze statue of Paddington Bear, sitting on his suitcase, has been erected at the Paddington Railway Station in fond memory of him. There’s also a kiosk at the station which sells Paddington goodies! I would love, love, love it if I could get a chance to visit the station sometime in my life and pick up my own Paddington Bear, as a keepsake.

If you’re interested in reading more about Paddington Bear, you can find a lot of info here.

I don’t know how I missed this book in my childhood, but I’m so glad to have found it now. If you haven’t read it too, do pick it up NOW. I don’t have a doubt in my mind that you’ll fall in love with Paddington too. I can’t wait to read the other books in the Paddington series now!

13 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

13 responses to “A Bear Called Paddington

  1. Priya, I loved Paddington as a child, and still do. If I read it today, I’d probably enjoy the book even more. Beautiful review.

    • priyaiyer

      @Suko

      Thanks, Suko. I missed this book as a child, but I fell in love with Paddington when I got hold of the book now. I’m sure you’ll fall in love with him, too, all over again, if you re-read the book. No one can resist his charms, can they? 🙂

  2. Swaram

    OMG! He is sooo sooo cute.

    • priyaiyer

      @Swaram

      Yep, yep. He’s very cute and adorable. Do read the book, if you haven’t already and fall in love with him. 🙂

  3. how adorable !! Let me get my hands on this book soon!Thanks for the heads-up.

  4. Veens

    I know! There are SO many books I also missed in my childhood. I really need to get this one for Aarya and me! 😀

  5. Oooh I am so glad you loved the book! I didn’t know about the kiosk selling goodies 🙂 I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Vaishnavi

      I LOVED this book, and am so looking forward to reading the others in the series.
      I would love to go to Paddington Station, London, some time in my life. 🙂

  6. Nice review Priya!! He is so adorable 🙂
    Must get this one for the kids.. and of course for myself 😀

    • priyaiyer

      @Priya

      Thank you!!

      He is damn cute and adorable, no? Go ahead and treat yourself and the kids to a Paddington book. I’m sure you all will love it! 🙂

  7. Pingback: The Secret Garden | uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

