Between Friends

The resort that we stayed at in Goa had a wonderful collection of used books – books which were read and left behind by the guests. You could re-read the books, and also leave behind the books that you’re done reading for other guests to read. Being a big fan of used books and the romance and sentimentality of it all, of course, I LOVED the fact! I picked up my first Debbie Macomber book and was busy reading it as I basked in the sunlight and enjoyed the beaches. I had heard of Debbie Macomber’s books – them being light and enjoyable reads – but had never read any. I am happy I got a chance to read her Between Friends, and happier to say that I loved it. 🙂

Between Friends is the story of two girls – Jillian and Lesley – who were the best of friends. They met in school and became friends. Their friendship continued over the years and across geographical boundaries. The book begins in the period before the Second World War, when Jillian and Lesley used to write letters to each other, offering words of comfort and love in difficult times. Later, in the ’90s, after computers became popular, they still continue to write to each other, the only difference being that they use e-mail. Their letters help them survive through many a tough phase in their lives – from dealing with a drunkard and wastrel husband and a difficult teenager to the loss of one’s first love in war.

The story of Jillian and Lesley is told entirely in epistolary format, and gives an intensely personal feel. The language is simple, and the narration is delightful, full of humour and warmth. I felt like I was personally involved in the lives of Jillian and Lesley throughout, and was a part of their sorrows and happiness. It is a delightful, light read, which leaves you with a good, happy feeling.

I would definitely recommend Between Friends to anyone who’s looking for a simple, yet hearty and entertaining read. I would love to read more books by Debbie Macomber, too. Any suggestions?

PS: The book stand at the resort gave me an idea. It might not work out, but it sure sounded like fun to me. Whenever we go to a resort/hotel on a holiday, how about leaving behind a small gift for the person who will occupy our room after us? Kind of like Secret Santa. Maybe hand it over at the resort’s reception desk. Wouldn’t it be a lovely little surprise for the guest? Wouldn’t it just make his holiday? Ok, my imagination is running riot now. What say you?

8 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

8 responses to “Between Friends

  1. Wow! What a lovely resort that is! I so wanna go to one such resort 🙂 Do tell me when u r leaving a gift behind Priya 😛 Am gonna b there to take it 😉 Fab idea 🙂

  2. I usually enjoy books written in the epistolary format. Wonderful review! I have not read any books by this author, though, so I can’t recommend another. Your idea to leave a small gift for the next guest is a lovely one.

  3. What a sweet little idea..So thoughtful and warm.I’ll look out for this author’s books.

  4. Anu

    I liked the story line priya!
    And passing on gift for guests is a good idea!!

Leave a Reply

