Nature Watch :)

I love watching the beauty of nature. It just melts away ALL my stress.  So when I came across The Tree Year, I knew I would love to do it. I knew I would enjoy doing it.

The concept of The Tree Year is to select a particular tree, observe it – the tree, its leaves, bark, the birds and insects on it, the flora and fauna around it, and write about it. You can also include photographs and/or sketches. I feel it is a wonderful idea to consciously conect with teh natural beauty around you, and to make you generally more aware.

I’m going to take up tree watching – nature watching rather – in a conscious and sincere way henceforth, whenever I can. And Bangalore is a wonderful place to do it. 🙂 I’ll be adding my tree pictures and posts to The Tree Year’s blog.

I think I’d rather not select one particular tree, but write about and post pictures of the bountiful trees all around the city. I don’t know if that can be done, but I love the idea of The Tree Year, and I think this is the best way that works for me.

I start with a wonderful tree that I saw on our visit to the Lal Baugh Botanical Gardens yesterday – a Silk Cotton tree, as it is popularly called.

The tree lives within a large enclosure constructed by the park authorities. The signboard on the enclosure suggests that the Ltin name of the tree is Bombax Ceiba. The signboard also states that the tree is over 200 years old. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!! 🙂

The tree is just HUGE, and BEAUTIFUL. I fell in love with it the instant I saw it – with its hollows and snaking roots and all. 🙂

I saw squirrels having a field day running all over the tree, hiding in the hollows and making merry. Ah! What fun that must be! 🙂

The tree took me back to my childhood days with Enid Blyton -it reminded me of The Faraway Tree. I somehow felt this tree was perfect to play the part of The Farway Tree, to be inhabited by friendly fairies and naughty pixies, where children could climb up the branches and go into the clouds to reach The Land Of Birthdays and The Land Of Take-What-You-Want. 🙂

There were a lot more beautiful plants and trees in the park, and I hope to write about them soon.

I loved our little adventure at Lal Baugh, and I hope to do this more often. Thanks, Tree Year, for the lovely idea! 🙂

 

12 Comments

Filed under My pics, Places

12 responses to “Nature Watch :)

  1. Thanks for your contribution to the Tree Year with this really amazing tree.
    Welcome and I’m looking forward to more posts!

  2. Anu

    I liked the silk tree’s picture…it looks like a painting!! and writing about nature is one of the best way to protect and spread the word about them!!

  3. This is an amazing idea to write about trees! It’s such a great feeling to stay close to nature! Nice writing:)

  4. Swaram

    Wowww! I luv this one too 🙂

  5. Pingback: Pink Passion « uniquely priya

  6. What an amazing tree 🙂

  7. Pingback: Nature Watch: Purplicious « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

