Set the colours free

The yellow should not touch the red

The green should not touch the gold

The black and white don’t go together

The brown should not go near the white

So you said

 

 

You laid down restrictions

For the blue and the purple

And the orange and cream as well

They should do this

And this they shouldn’t

 

 

I opened my mind, and

Against your wishes, liberated my colours

And I found out that the yellow

Brings out the best in the red

And the green looks great beside the gold

 

 

I found that the brown and white and black

Make a wonderful team

The brown makes up

When the black gives up

And the white wins when they both fail

 

 

It is still a mistake in your eyes

That I mix my colours so

But I set my colours free, I let them find each other

And together, they gave me

A beautiful picture of a new world that you cannot see

**************************

I wrote this for last week’s Magpie. The muse came rather late. 😉

Image Courtesy: The pic is from a Google search.

20 Comments

Filed under My poems, Prompts

20 responses to “Set the colours free

  1. Swaram

    Wow!

    ‘But I set my colours free, I let them find each other

    And together, they gave me

    A beautiful picture of a new world that you cannot see’

    Love these lines 🙂

  2. Everything about this is absolutely great..loved the title..the theme..most importantly I want to liberate my colors too

    • priyaiyer

      @Rambler

      What I actually had in mind was something different – racial discrimination. But the way you see it also seems to make sense.

      Well, go ahead and liberate yourself. It’s really as simple as that! 🙂

      Thanks! 🙂

  3. What a wonderful take on the prompt. Excellent!

  4. Aww…late or not late, this is lovely, Priya!
    A superb message, very well delivered!!

  5. Please feel free to share 1 to 3 poems with our potluck poetry today, first time participants could use old poems or poems unrelated to our theme, Thanks..
    Happy Monday!

    love your blog, your poetry is impressive!

  6. Anu

    This is absolutely gorgeous poem Priya! A simple and understandable way to express the racism. Each and every word was sounding magical!!

Leave a Reply

