Thursday Challenge 6 – Yeh Dilli Hai Mere Yaar…

Two of my most cherished dreams came true over the last weekend – to visit Delhi and to see the Taj Mahal. I’m so, so happy the sudden chance to visit Delhi and Agra popped up and that we grabbed at it. I spent an awesome 5 days in Delhi and Agra, and they turned out to be among the best days of my life. 🙂

I fell in love with Dilli.. everything about it.. the old-world charm of Old Delhi, the hustle and bustle of New Delhi, the rich history of the place, the people, the food, everything. Agra left me spellbound and wondering about the kings and queens of the times of the Taj Mahal. I’m now much, much more open to study history, my knowledge of which is very poor. 🙂

When I saw the theme for this week’s Thursday Challenge – “MANY” (Candies, Crowd, Paperclips, Coins, Collections, etc. – I knew I had to put up these pics which I took at the Kitabi Sadak at Daryagunj, Delhi.

There is a HUGE market for books of all kinds held here every Sunday. I happened to visit the place on a Sunday, and I was awed by it. There are books and books and books…

…. and books…

… and then there are more books. 🙂

People read books here…

…. some stand on them,

… some throw them around.

With some chaat-wallahs who make mouth-watering delicacies,

Kitabi Sadak is a sight to behold indeed.

 

It is a book lovers’ paradise, and for a book-and-food-lover, it’s a must-must-must visit place. I loved each and every inch of this place.

This time around, I picked up a few books from there – Navy Husband by Debbie Macomber, Sea Glass by Anita Shreve, The Way We Were by Elizabeth Noble, and The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett – and all for a mere Rs. 160! Next time I visit Delhi, I’m going to Kitabi Sadak with more time on my hands than now, and with a huge list of books. 🙂

20 Comments

Filed under My pics, Places

20 responses to “Thursday Challenge 6 – Yeh Dilli Hai Mere Yaar…

  1. Swaram

    I need them both – the books and the food 🙂

  2. WOW!! I would love to visit and soak and savor and of course buy from this Sunday Book Market!! 😀

  3. Thank you for sharing this. I did not know about Kitabi Sadak, and I lived there for 11 years. Next time I visit Delhi, I will make sure to stop by there. 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Tanu

      WHAT??? You lived in Delhi for 11 years and you never heard of this??? Being the avid book reader you are?
      You SHOULD visit this place. I am sure you’ll love it.

  4. 4 books for Rs 160?? Thats sooooooo cheap. Maybe I should give Jijaji a list of my own for his next official trip 😉

    • priyaiyer

      @Laksha

      Yes, books are very cheap here. A lot of them are priced as low as Rs. 20-30. Awesome na? A paradise for book lovers in the true sense of the word! 🙂

      I’m gonna give the hubby a list of books to buy the next time he visits Delhi. Though he has strictly refused to go there the next time, you can give your list too. 😉

  5. Wow! I love these incredible photos of books, more books, and more! Thank you for sharing these, Priya. You have a wonderful eye. 🙂

  6. omg, is this paradise? 😀 i wanna go!

  7. Anu

    Great pictures, matching to the prompt!
    So many books!!

  8. bedazzled

    My eyes popped when i saw all those lovely books.. and droool over the yummy chat

    • priyaiyer

      @Bedazzled

      LOL. I can completely understand. I was beside myself too at the market. 🙂
      And Dilli ki chaat is just too good.

  9. bedazzled

    about the scrapbooks.. Start off with picking up some papers ,cardstock and embellishments. You can buy these from Itsy Bitsy(a shop in Koramangala) or any hobby ideas store. There are some superb resources on the net..check out scrapbooking.com .They have lovely layouts.You are set to start u r firt Scrapbooking pjt..

    • priyaiyer

      @Bedazzled

      Hey, thanks for the tips! 🙂 I’ll definitely make a start.
      I would definitely like to include photographs in my scrapbook, but there is a slight problem. All my photographs are in the digital form. Do I get them all printed out? How do you go about it?

  10. I really miss being around books and wondering around Indian streets this way. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

