The Undomestic Goddess

I had heard a lot about Sophie Kinsella novels, and finally I got around to reading one – The Undomestic Goddess. And I loved it. In spite of it being a typical chick-lit, sometimes illogical, sometimes too filmi.

The Undomestic Goddess is the story of Samantha Sweeting, hot-shot city lawyer, who has an above-average IQ and earns hundreds of dollars every 6 minutes. She works with Carter Spink, one of the most prestigious law firms in the city, and is running for partnership in the firm. She knows of no life outside Carter Spink, but being the workaholic that she is, she loves it all. She thrives under pressure, and laps up all the challenges that the management throws her way. Her dearest and most-cherished dream is to become a partner in Carter Spink. Just when this dream is on the verge of realisation, Samantha realises she has committed a dreadful mistake in her work, which will put the firm to a loss of millions of dollars. Samantha takes the easy way out – she runs away from the city.

Samantha somehow reaches a beautiful mansion in the countryside, where she is mistaken for a housekeeper. Unable to find a way out of her situation, Samantha accepts the job of housekeeper with two of the most gregarious – and the sweetest, as it is later revealed – employers, Eddie and Trish. Samantha bluffs her way through the interview and Eddie and Trish are impressed. Samantha is required to cook, dust, clean, wash, and iron. But she knows nothing of these. She has never even switched on an oven or sewn a button in her life so far.

The highly undomestic goddess Samantha meets gardener Nathaniel at Trish and Eddie’s place, and then her life changes for ever. I’ll not tell you more, for that would take the suspense away. I would just say it is a lovely, light read, perfect for a lazy day. I don’t know if I would have done the same thing as Samantha in her situation, but I still thoroughly enjoyed every bit of the book.

What I loved about this book is that the heroine is not just a bimbo – a blonde fit for nothing else but to pout and look pretty. She is a woman of substance, and Sophie Kinsella has brought that out beautifully. Actually, I loved all the characters in the book – they are all full of spunk and soul, and quirkiness. 🙂

Sophie Kinsella is hilarious, and I’m definitely going to pick up more books by her. Do give this one a shot. Definitely recommended.

13 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

13 responses to “The Undomestic Goddess

  1. I have so wanted to read this one Priya, but hv just not laid my hands on it. Must pick this one soon 🙂

  2. I have read this one, Remember Me and Can you keep a Secret? by the same author.I felt they were good timepass stuff.

  3. I love Kinsella’s style 🙂 All her books are such fun reads! Loved this one too 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Smitha

      Hee hee. Our tastes quite match, hai na?

      I do want to pick up other books by the same author. Any suggestions? Any idea if I should read the Shopaholic series in a particular order?

  4. Priya, this does sound like a fun book. Terrific review!

  5. I love this book!!! I think this one is the best out of all her novels. Awesome review!

  6. Anu

    This sounds like a real light read…would love to pick it up soon…

  7. rohit

    Must be an enjoyable read The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella. loved the way you wrote it. I find your review very genuine and orignal, this book is going in by “to read” list.

Leave a Reply

