Dillllliiiiiiiiiiii

One of the things I loved about Delhi is that it is FULL of monuments – rich treasures of the history of India. I totally entered another era when I visited the Qutb Minar and its adjacent structures. Apart from admiring the beauty of these structures, I was completely absorbed in trying to imagine what exactly those days of the Mughal reign would have been like. Isn’t it awe-inspiring, looking at a monument built centuries ago, today?

This is a corridor in the same complex as the Qutb Minar. I could just about imagine a pretty princess sneaking out of her grounds to stand in this corridor.

This is the Qutb Minar, standing tall and regal in all its glory. According to Wiki, ‘Built as a Victory Tower, to celebrate the victory of Mohammed Ghori over Rajput king, Prithviraj Chauhan, in 1192 AD, by his then viceroy, Qutbuddin Aibak, later the first Sultan of Mamluk dynasty. Its construction also marked the end last of Hindu kingdoms in North India, and the beginning of Muslim rule in India, which ended only in the 19th century with the arrival of the British.’ WOW!

The Qutb Minar has a very unique structure for a tower, and each of its five storeys has a different pattern. It is 72.5 metres high, as per Wiki. The top two storeys were apparently rebuilt, after the Minar was struck by lightning inΒ  1368 AD. All these facts just AMAZED me.

There are inscriptions in Arabic all over the Minar, which had me entranced. I wonder what each of these inscriptions means. I would love to know.

I fell in love with this artistic red and white gateway in the Qutb complex, which is known as the Alai Darwaza. Isn’t it simply beautiful?

This is the tomb of Imam Zamin, a saint from Turkestan, within the Qutb complex. Imam ZaminΒ  settled in India in around 1500, during the Sikander Lodhi reign. The saint built his tomb during his lifetime. He was buried here after his death, in 1539 AD.

Sadly, many of the structures in the complex are in a state of ruin. I just hope this beautiful place is restored to its rightful glory. It would be a waste to let all of it go to ruins.

8 Comments

Filed under My pics, Places

8 responses to “Dillllliiiiiiiiiiii

  1. These photos are quite majestic, Priya! Someday, I will visit India, I hope. πŸ™‚

  2. Woww! All those facts and the pics amazed me too πŸ™‚ I do hope such structures are reinstated and maintained well! Would be so sad to lose them 😦

    The 3rd pic is my fav πŸ™‚

    • priyaiyer

      @Swaram

      It would be so sad na? I hope so too.
      Delhi has such a rich history – it amazed me to no end. πŸ™‚

      Oh I love that pic too πŸ™‚

  3. nice pictures with facts.

  4. Anu

    beautiful travellogue priya..
    I have a similar pic like your 3rd pic with me!!yes…i loved the structures and inscriptions, and yeah the red colors!!
    I liked that uncompleted Qutub to00 πŸ™‚
    Brought me back my memories!!

Leave a Reply

