Thank you, Blogsville!

I was not an Internet-savvy person as a kid or even in my college times. We got a computer at home only in 2007, after the whole world had already gone places. I pushed and prodded keys and taught myself about the Internet world, and I’m so, so, so glad I did. It opened up a whole new world to me – one I had never glimpsed before. It still amazes me – the way treasure troves of information open up to you at one touch of a key, how you can book hotels and trains and flights sitting at home, and how you can talk to just about anyone, anytime, from anywhere with a net connection.

I started blogging to make note of those little moments of my life which get lost in the daily humdrum, as well as to give vent to those poems and stories running around in my head. Over time, blogging became an inseparable part of me. It taught me to discuss about various things. It instigated me to pursue those latent interests of mine – like photography and travelling – which I wanted to, but never did. It made me more aware of the things going on around me, and taught me a lot. Some of the most important lessons blogging has taught me are that nothing is too trivial to discuss if it has been bothering you, and that there are always people who have had similar – if not the same – experiences and feelings as you, and that asking for help/suggestions/guidance was never easier. The blogging world has made me read a lot of wonderful books and authors that I would have missed out on otherwise.

Many a times, I have felt that a certain issue in my own life is too trivial, too taboo to talk about, but then, I have seen the same issues being discussed on people’s blogs. That has opened me up to discussing a lot of things, which I never used to talk about earlier. And I cannot tell you about the comfort it has given me to know that there are other people out there feeling the same things as me, facing the same dilemmas as me, having the same issues as me, and feeling the need to discuss trivial issues too – sometimes for the simple reason that discussing a thing gets it out of your system.

In the blog world, I found posts that echoed my thoughts about worshipping while menstruating and the dilemma of wearing a mangalsutra or not (which I never wrote about though it bothered me). I found posts about the everyday frustrations between a daughter-in-law and mother-in-law. And this made me feel that I am not alone. I read about people fighting their fears and succeeding, and that inspired me. I read about book bloggers having a huge pile of unread books and yet feeling the need to buy more books and read them, and I realized that I am not weird. Blogging turned out to be a comfort zone for me – who never really fit in anywhere with my different thoughts. I fit in perfectly in this world.

To quote The Mad Momma, “I understand that people are private and I understand that it hurts. But I also think that communities are built in sharing experiences.….Any taboo topic needs to be aired simply because it brings about awareness, sensitivity, and understanding and takes away the mystery and shame around it.” And I entirely agree with this.

I still have a long way to go in terms of blogging, understanding the Internet and opening up to discussions, but I cannot deny how much these things have changed me and my life. My blog has grown from when I started it, and so have I. I can’t thank the Internet and the blog world enough for that.

10 Comments

Filed under Blogs, Discussions, Musings

10 responses to “Thank you, Blogsville!

  1. Hmm..nice :)Worshipping while menstuating, Mangalsutra – interesting issues..many are carry-overs of overtly traditional people. Rituals, if any, ought to be for people, not the other way around.

    Anyway nice recounting of life in blogsville 🙂

    Sathej

  2. I have to thank you for this post as I still remember reading your earlier “Thank You Blogsville” post in which you had mentioned about Nithya’s “Au Revoir” – one of the best poignant posts I have read so far. Keep going.

  3. A new look for your blog–I like it!

    What a great post! Blogging is a wonderful way to capture moments and share feelings. Very well-expressed, Priya.

  4. Totally agree with u 🙂 Found such gud ppl here too 🙂

    • priyaiyer

      @Swaram

      Yes. There are some wonderful people out there, and I am glad to have met (?) them through blogging. 🙂

  5. Anu

    how true Priya…blogworld is a real boon for us!!

Leave a Reply

