Notes From A Small Room

It’s the simple things in life that keep us from going crazy,’ says Ruskin Bond in ‘Notes From A Small Room’, and I am bound to agree. In the craziness of everyday life, it is the simple things that touch our heart, reaffirm our faith, and help us retain our sanity. I can’t agree more with Ruskin Bond. Little things like a familiar song or a sudden evening downpour or a beautiful sunset or an unexpected smile or kind word have often made my day, and stopped me from losing my mind over the craziness of the world. It is no wonder, then, that I loved Ruskin Bond’s ‘Notes From A Small Room’, which is all about the simple and small things in life, that give us unparallelled pleasure. How can you not fall in love with lines like ‘I stretch myself out on the cot under a sky brilliant with stars. And as I close my eyes, someone brushes against the lime tree, bruising its leaves; and the good fresh fragrance of lime comes to me on the night air, making that moment memorable for all time.’ or ‘It’s a good sound to read by – the rain outside, the quiet within – and, although tin roofs are given to springing unaccountable leaks, there is in general a feeling of being untouched by, and yet in touch with, the rain.’?

Notes From A Small Room is a collection of short essays – Ruskin Bond’s ode to all the little things that we often overlook in the rush of life. It covers a wide range of things – from Ruskin’s favourite smells and sounds, to little incidents with his family, friends and his cat Suzie that will always remain in his memory, and even his very first typewriter. Ruskin Bond writes about his experiences in Shimla, Dehradun and Landour, and moments when he felt one with nature. He meditates on things like the difference a perfect window makes to a room, his philosophy in life, and his thoughts on reaching 75 years of age. He also reflects on something he has a passionate love for – books.

I could so, so, so relate to the author – it almost felt as if he had read my soul and were writing about it. I so understood what Ruskin Bond means when he says, ‘This morning I was pondering on this absence of a philosophy or religious outlook in my make-up, and feeling a little low because it was cloudy and dark outside, and gloomy weather always seems to dampen my spirits. Then the clouds broke up and the sun came out, large, yellow splashes of sunshine in my room and upon my desk, and almost immediately I felt an uplift of spirit. And at the same time, I realised that no philosophy would be of any use to a person so susceptible to changes in light and shade, sunshine and shadow. I was a pagan, pure and simple; a sensualist; sensitive to touch and colour and fragrance and odour and sounds of every description; a creature of instinct, of spontaneous attractions, given to illogical fancies and attachments.’

The book contains almost 40 entries, each of them short and extremely simple – typical Ruskin Bond style – but none of them failed to get to me. Each piece is a gem, filled with wit, and it feels as if the writer has put his heart and soul in them. Take this for example – ‘I have made a small bench in the middle of this civilised wilderness… this is my favourite place. No one can find me here, unless I call out and make my presence known. The buntings and sparrows grow “accustomed to my face”. And welcoming the grain I scatter for them, flit about near my feet. One of them, bolder than the rest, alights on my shoe adn proceeds to polish his beak on the leather. The sparrows are here all the year round. So are the whistling thrushes, who live in the shadow between the house and the hill, sheltered by a waterwood bush, so called because it likes cold, damp places.’ or this – ‘When the trees saw me, they made as if to turn in my direction. A puff to wind came across the valley from the distant snows. A long-tailed blue magpie took alarm and flew noisily out of an oak tree. The cicadas were suddenly silent. But the trees remembered me. They bowed gently in the breeze and beckoned me nearer, welcoming me home.’

 It’s been a long, long time since a book has taken over my heart so completely with delight, and kept me constantly smiling. It has made me more sensitive to nature, to the little things around me, and urged me not make time for the simple wonders that life and nature constantly gives us, and to write about them. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy from inside.

I needed this book to happen in my life now, and I didn’t realise it till I read it. Has that happened to you?

I’m charmed by Notes From A Small Room, and am completely head over heels in love with it. This is one book that goes into my library, and stays with me, to be read over and over again, to be shared with loved ones, and passed on over generations. If you haven’t read this one already, grab  a copy NOW! 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

10 responses to “Notes From A Small Room

  1. You’ve been coming up with quite a few book reviews, but this one has made me read, reflect and connect. I am relieved ! Given my now-frighteningly-long staying away from reading, I was kind of getting concerned that I would soon lose my sense of appreciation. But no, some of these lines here create a sense of deja-vu in me, taking me back to my days of lying down on the bed and reading.

    Some day, I must read more of Ruskin Bond. Have read only a little by him, and that too, long back. I would almost certainly relate to him, I can realize from this post. Beautiful, assuaging and lilting lines, some of those..

    Sathej

    • priya

      @Sathej

      I’m sure you’ll love this book. Do pick up a copy whenever you can. 🙂

      BTW you could also write about the little things around you, which fill your life with beauty and make your days. I, for one, would love to read about it. 🙂

  2. Lovely lines indeed. Should grab a copy soon.

  3. Pingback: Nature Watch: Pink Passion « uniquely priya

  4. I have a feeling I’ll love this one 🙂
    Beautifully written.. one that I can so relate to!!

    • priya

      @Priya

      Do check out this book. If you love nature and the small things in life, I’m sure you’ll love this book, too. 🙂
      Do let me know how you liked it.

  5. Anu

    lovely writing…
    I’m sure I will love this book!

  6. Pingback: The Secret Garden | uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

