Nature Watch: Pink Passion

Bangalore is painted pink and yellow and purple all over these days, and it’s beautiful! The city is growing more and more beautiful by the day, as summer is approaching, and I’m loving it. Every time I go out, I am surprised by the variety of flowers blooming here and there. And have you noticed the sweet smell in the air these days? A kind of cinnamon-sweet smell, if I may describe it that way? I don’t know to what plant/flower/tree this heady scent belongs to, but it fills my senses every time I’m out of home.

I can’t get enough of the natural beauty on my way to work and back home. Taking inspiration from Ruskin Bond, I am about to post pics of some beautiful flowers that I took yesterday. I look forward to taking a lot more photographs over the coming days, and a lot more ‘nature posts’ here. Are you guys game for it?

Here goes the second instalment of Nature Watch – some shots of pretty pink flowers that I took near Sankey Tank. I have spotted these flowers at many other places in Bangalore too. I don’t know what they are called, but they never fail to uplift my heart whenever I look at them. There’s a carpet of pink and lavender and yellow all over the city, as if asking one to lift up one’s gaze and at least spare one glance for the pretty blossoms, if not spend time with them. πŸ™‚

I love the shape of these flowers, and the light shade of pink. Aren’t they awesome?

Any ideas/suggestions about identifying these flowers are most welcome. πŸ™‚

7 Comments

Filed under My pics, Places

7 responses to “Nature Watch: Pink Passion

  1. Wow!! Exactly my feelings Priya πŸ™‚
    I try to savour all the beauty… and it sure does lift my spirits!!
    These are called Crape myrtle [Lagerstroemia] Ref: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lagerstroemia

    Lovely lovely pics πŸ™‚

    • priya

      @Priya

      Exactly! Bangalore is too beautiful these days to not take notice and savour all of it. πŸ™‚
      Thanks a ton for the info on the flowers..

  2. beautiful flowers. Summer is always a refreshing season indeed to watch the flowers bloom.

  3. Anu

    absolutely gorgeous pinkies!
    I think they are Tabebuia…
    Check this link ..

  4. Pingback: Purplicious « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

