The Wishing Tag

I have been tagged by Joel with what I call ‘The Wishing Tag’. Here goes:
Rule: Please thoughtfully consider the following, and choose one item for each of the categories below. (Be sure to describe your reasons for choosing)

1) One religious work from a non-familiar tradition you’ll read…
The Bible…I have always wanted to read it, but never really got around to it.
2) One song that you like–from your ‘least likely to listen to’ genre…
UPDATE: Initially I had put up the song ‘Ya Ali’ because I believed it was by Himeshbhai, HR songs being the genre I am least likely to listen to. But Niths was good enough to clear this misconception of mine. This song is actually sung by Pritam. I guess I got confused with the album ‘Ya Ali’. Anyways, with all due respect to Himeshbhai, this proves that he is not at all my type.
Now, to answer this question, let me choose a different genre. Tamil kutthu songs are another genre I am the least likely to listen to. However, I somehow love this song. Maybe because it has many beautiful memories associated with it. Check it out:
3) A book from a genre you almost never read, that you have read, or you will read (promise!):
I have never read psychology. I bought ‘Blink’ by Malcolm Gladwell a looooooooong time ago, and it is gathering dust in my library. I do intend to read that.
4) Somewhere you’d never thought to go on holiday/vacation, and why it might be fun to go there?
I would like to go to Seychelles some day. I fell in love with the place when I saw it in ‘Papa Kehte hain’. Go, have a look here.
5) A specific food you’ve never tried, but will because of this meme, honest!
Trying out a new kind of food? I don’t need a meme for that. 😀
I have always wanted to try out Dhansak, a Parsi recipe, but I never really got around to it. Guess the time has come for me to do that.
6) A sport or game you really hate, or haven’t tried yet, but are willing to give one more go:
Sports and me are just not made for each other. As for games, I have never played Chess, but would like to try some day. God, the wish list is just going on growing!

7) A style of dance you probably won’t try (we won’t make you promise on this one):

I am fascinated by dance in general. Though I have never tried it myself, I love watching people dancing – be it Bharatnatyam, Garba, Raas, Ball dancing, just about anything. I just love watching all that energy, activity, and enthusiasm. I might just try out something someday, I never know! 🙂
8 ) A career job you don’t feel you’re suited for, and why:
Doctor – First of all, I would never make it past the exams with all that Science. Secondly, I don’t think I am cut out to deal with all that pain on a daily basis. To let you in on a secret, my parents wanted me to become a doctor. Thankfully, I didn’t go for it. I would have sucked horribly.
9) What is it that you will dare to wear which you have never worn before?
Something like this. I have never worn such heavily embroidered stuff before, but would definitely like to try out someday.

10) If there’s one thing in life you wanted to do, and will do because of this meme, what will it be?
I promise to watch more English movies. 😀 I am a newbie wrt English and Tamil movies.

Now for the tagging. I tag these people:

~ Niths

~ Sharan

~ Sathej

~ Vijay Ganesh

~ SN

~ Aparna S

~ Arv

~ Rambler

~ Veens

~ Anyone else who wants to take this up

Waiting to read your versions, people! And thanks, Joel, it was great fun doing this!

38 Comments

Filed under Music, Tag

38 responses to “The Wishing Tag

  1. priyaiyer

    @niths

    hey, i was always under the impression, somehow, that it was by himeshbhai. :O

  2. Well, that was quick of you… 🙂

  3. more english movies??? hahaha cool

  4. Arv

    Hiya… Kewl stuff…

    I love the seychelles too… amazing place to visit…

    There are loads of English movies to watch, so have fun…

    That parsi dish looks yummy… will add it to the list… 🙂

    Have a nice evening… take care… Cheers…

  5. Arv

    I’m done with my tag 🙂 Cheers…

  6. Me

    I heard that it is pretty difficult to get veggie food in Seychelles.

    Chess aadinadhu illaya …:o

  7. priyaiyer

    @joel

    well, i had some free time on my hands. so took it up promptly. 🙂

    @rambler

    ya i m actually planning to.. 🙂

    @arv

    🙂

    @arv again

    that was quick! ** off to your blog**

  8. Nithya Sivashankar

    umm..correction Iyer : Ya ali isnt by Himesh. Its by Pritam !

  9. priyaiyer

    @me

    in ‘the 3 mistakes of my life’, when the protagonists visit australia, they take gujju dry food with them – khakra, thepla, etc etc to last throughout their stay. seychelles pona apdi edhavadhu pannalam. 🙂 pogara bodhu parkalam…

    illai, naan chess adinadhu illai. i have not done a LOT of stuff in life… 😦

  10. Would do. Aamam, okkandhu yosipangalo enna tag pannalam-nu?

  11. priyaiyer

    @vg

    would be fun reading urs…

    “Aamam, okkandhu yosipangalo enna tag pannalam-nu?” – :)) i think that’s probably the way tags originate!

  12. super.. dhanksak.. mmm interesting.. do let me know how it turns out.. 😛
    will take this up asap.. 🙂

  13. BTW another DOCTOR hating person… lol

  14. hahaha. Mine was published yesterday night as it seems quite simple this time !

  15. swat

    Naanum chess adinadhu illae. High 5! Yet another co-incidence 😉

  16. Nithya Sivashankar

    Err.. You talking about the album Ya ali or the Gangster movie Ya ali ? cauz you ve inserted the video of Ya ali – Gangster and that song is by Pritam only !

  17. priyaiyer

    @joel

    i don’t hate doctors. i hate GOING to the doctor’s. and i definitely don’t see myself as a doctor. 🙂

    @vg

    cool. will check out your version. i loved doing this, as it made me think of a lot of things i had almost forgotten about…

    @swat

    **blink blink** is this really happening? :O :O :O two people just cannot be so much alike!!!

  18. priyaiyer

    @aparna

    would love to read ur version. btw, i was not planning on making that dhansak. i know of a sooper restaurant here that makes fab dhansak. adhellam edhukku irukku? 😀

  19. priyaiyer

    @niths

    danke for the clarification. update added, madam! 🙂

  20. Folks… I have published top 10 cliched statements according to me in my blog. Trust you folks would love it !!!

  21. priyaiyer

    @vijay ganesh

    i saw it earlier, looked interesting. will check out, sure. 🙂

  22. priyaiyer

    @sn

    cool. check panrein. 🙂

  23. ooh
    Sarees are gorgeous, I love them when someone else wears them
    You should try it 😛
    And Seychelles seems the dream destination for most people

  24. Your blog has been listed in Pathivuspot
    And please tell me some more Taminglish Blogs to add this Taminglish aggregator. Thanks.

  25. You like gemini gemini :O

    Tsk tsk 😛

  26. priyaiyer

    @niths

    yup, i do. 😀 it is one of the very few kutthu songs i like…

  27. Seychelle is no doubt b’ful…I have seen pics from there 🙂

    well done tag!
    btw nice blog..

  28. priyaiyer

    @sachi

    hey! thanks for dropping in, and for the comment. welcome to UP! 🙂
    .
    yup, it is indeed a wonderful place…

  29. Veens

    hey girl sorry sorry

    i will be comin back and readin here ok?

    and abt the qs u asked abt linking… i m honoured that u think there is smething that i wrote that u like and u want to link back…

    i m seriously so happy

    thnk u

    u dnt have to ask me..

    go on!

    thanks dear!

    i will be back soon!

  30. priyaiyer

    @veens

    welcome back! and thanks for the permission! 🙂

  31. Pingback: How I wish…. « Scribbling Away…..

  32. PI, one more (please?) –

    11) If there’s one topic you’re not comfortable blogging about, but would write about because of this tag, what would it be?

    (I wonder who came up with this tag – they forgot the all important questions 😉 )

  33. priyaiyer

    @priya

    first of all, welcome back to UP after a loooooooong hiatus! 🙂

    as for your question, i tried to think, but could not come up with anything. 😦 i already blog about all that i am comfortable about. if i havent blogged about anything yet, it is either bcos i am not comfortable writing about it or i am not aware of it. 🙂

  34. Ooh that’s a beautiful dress.
    😛
    I’d like to take this tag up. It’s fun.

  35. priyaiyer

    @stef

    🙂 consider yourself officially tagged herewith. i am sure you would enjoy doing it. waiting to read your version.

  36. 😛 A tag. Just what I need to combat this bout of Riterblokitis.
    You have been added to the Royal Treasure Trove! Though I thought I’d blogrolled you ages ago.

    hope u break out of Riterblokitis with this tag. 😀 waiting to read the tag as well as more of your lovely poems.

    “You have been added to the Royal Treasure Trove!” – ah! thanks for the honour, your royal highness! 😛

  37. Pingback: The Wishing Tag « SATHEJ'S BLOG

Leave a comment