Some mush :)

Winter is gradually setting in. Cold air is beginning to nip the skin in the mornings and late evenings. It’s time for some mush on my blog. 🙂 So here goes. Something I received through a forward:

Why do we wear our wedding ring on the fourth finger?

As has been glorified a number of times by our very own Hindi films, the left fourth finger has a nerve that goes to the heart. It is for this very reason that the wedding ring is worn on this finger. Direct dil se connection, you see? 😉

This mail, however, has something different to say. The thumb represents parents, second finger represents brothers and sisters, center finger represents our own self, fourth finger represents your partner and the last finger represents your children. (as per the Chinese people). 

The mail goes on to say that God created this as a miracle. Put both your palms together and fold down both your third fingers.

image001.jpg

Now, if you try to separate your thumbs, you will be able to do so. This indicates that our parents will leave us one day.

Now close the thumb and try to separate the first fingers. Again, you will be able to do this. This indicates that our brothers and sisters will leave us, as they will have their own families.

The center finger signifies our own self, so it is not considered in this game.

Now, join your first fingers together and try to separate your last finger, i.e. the little finger, which signifies our children. This indicates that our children will move away from us sooner or later, when they have families of their own.

Now for the best part. Join your little fingers together and try to separate the fourth fingers. You will not be able to separate them. At least, me and my friends were not able to. 🙂 As per the legend, these fingers represent the husband and wife and the lack of separation indicates that they are meant to stay together throughout life, through thick and thin. 🙂

The mail ended with the line “Real love will stick together forever and ever.”

I tried it out without folding down the third fingers, and it still worked.

I don’t know how far this is true and what is the ‘logical explanation’ for the ‘miracle’ that happens, but I found it rather sweet. It appealed to the illogical, mushy part of me. 🙂  Do try it out and let me know your views in the comments section. 🙂

I am very much tempted to add a joke that I read somewhere:

Mrs. X: Mrs. Y, why are you wearing your wedding ring on the wrong finger?

Mrs. Y: Because I married the wrong man!! 🙂

____________________________________________

On a slightly different note, one of the most sweet and beautiful quotes on love that I came across:

“Sometimes I have to put walls up around me, not to keep people out, but to see who cares enough to break them down just to be with me. ” 🙂
 

8 Comments

Filed under Kaamedi Kimedi, Love, Sourced

8 responses to “Some mush :)

  1. Brinda

    Ya.. It really works! And that was an interesting piece of trivia.

  2. priyaiyer

    @brinda

    🙂 yep, it does. thanks!

  3. Hmm… it works, but I ain’t too sure about its message…
    The last quote about love – yes, really beautiful. So true…breaking those walls – really nice…
    Sathej

  4. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    me not sure about the credibility of the legend. the message, i think, is that every one moves away from us in life, at one point or the other. only true love, that is our life partner, stays with us forever, through thick and thin. 🙂 too mushy, i know! 🙂

    and ya, i just love the quote! 🙂

  5. Hi Priya!
    Just stumbled off your blog. U write well. Liked this interesting trivia. Can i put it on my blog? If, you don’t mind 🙂
    Oh…forgot to intro myself. I m Krishna. living in noida. instructional designer by profession. I guess u know who an ID is being from a content writing profession…rt?

    Keep sharing ur interesting thots.

  6. priyaiyer

    @krishna

    hi! nice to meet(?) u… yep, i somewhat know what instructional design is. designing course content in a way that it is easily understandable and clear, if i m not mistaken.

    thanks for the comments! and ya, welcome here! 🙂 keep visiting!

    yep, sure you can put this post up on ur blog! i got it thru a forward. and, i will definitely keep sharing my thoughts. i cant shut up, if my life depended on it! 🙂

  7. Hi Priya!

    U know what? It’s midnight n I m still stuck on your blog…every post is refreshing. And each one deserves a comment. I can’t leave without reading all…even though i hv to get up early for office tmrw. 🙂

  8. priyaiyer

    @krishna

    thanku, thanku! 🙂

    ~takes a bow~

Leave a comment